Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I used some sweet potatoes and half and half. The soup tasted good but the cream looked curdled and didn't blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
OMG this is a fabulous soup, especially with our changes!!! 1/2 the butter, "Better than Bouillon" veggie base. Yogurt instead of cream. Heaven. The yogurt really gives it a tang that accents the soup. So easy and SO Good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey J. Schaefer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
It's close to being an excellent soup. Next time I'll cut way back on the butter and use milk instead of heavy cream as that it made it a bit too rich. With those substitutions, I'm expecting it to be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
With two cups of butter my soup was swimming. What a disaster! I made it for a church soup night. All I could do was use paper towels to skim the butter off. I think 2 Tbsp would have been the right amount. It has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
yes this is fantastic! I had no clams so added shrimp. Awsome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Very easy and very tasty. A little heavy on the butter.....but did I say it was tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Amazing! Followed other reviewers suggestions and used half the butter, added minced garlic, doubled the potatoes and used half and half instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Osburn, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I thought it was good reminded me of soup at Olive Garden. I added half butter stick, kale, turkey, sausage, and cayenne pepper. And half & half cream is all you need, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This is probably the best soup I've ever made. Four stars because the amount of butter listed in the recipe is insane. I cut it in half the first time I made this and it was too much still. Now I use about 3/4 of a stick. I only like enough to cook the leeks in, the soup is rich enough with the half and half (yes, no heavy cream either). I also add white pepper, a dash of cayenne, garlic powder and parsley. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Yum. 2T cornstarch & 5 potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States