Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This soup is delicious! Made a few modifications to make it a bit healthier. Cut the butter down to 3/4c, used fat free chicken broth and fat free half and half instead of cream. I also put it in the blender before serving, it was thick and creamy, I also added a little crisp crumbled bacon on top before serving. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This made a fantastic soup! I used half the amount of butter as Julie suggested in the comments, a mixure of potato varieties (red, yukon gold, russet), didn't peel them, a combination of half-and-half, whipping cream and 2% milk, and added diced ham in the last 5 minutes of cooking as another reviewer suggested. I think this soup would be tasty without the ham but is sure didn't hurt. ;) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Yummoh! I took other's advice and added some celery, didn't add salt, cut butter to 1/2 Cup, and used fat-free half and half instead of heavy cream. My husband suggested adding some ground spicy Italian sausage.. which we did and the soup tasted just like the Zuppa Toscana at the Olive Garden! I will make this soup again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Loved it! As the author states, it does taste great the next day (and beyond), so it made great leftovers. I used milk instead of cream to cut some of the calories, and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was so easy to make and tasted fantastic this will be a favorite during those cold winter month's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
pretty good, very strong flavour but good! added a clove of garlic, blended it up and added ham. Might make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was a fantastic recipe. I was cooking for two different friends (one who is a vegetarian and one who just underwent facial surgery), so I made some variations. I substituted vegetable broth (not stock) for chicken broth, and like other reviewers, I halved the butter and the cream. I didn't have cornstarch, but didn't need it, since I was planning to puree it. I lightly pureed it with an immersion blender, but left chunks of potato for the veggie friend, and pureed it to a liquid soup for the surgery friend. I can't wait to give it to them both! This one's a keeper! I'm on a bit of a diet, so when I make this for myself, I'll probably use milk and less butter as well. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I love the flavors of leeks with potatoes. I've made this recipe a few times and really like it more as sloppy potatoes than soup. I use half the butter, make sure the leeks are really tender before adding other ingredients, double the potatoes, and a few other adjustments. For convenience, I used a can of Cream of Celery soup and some water instead of the broth and cream. I added some red pepper for a little heat because that appeals to my family. Most important, I used a dutch oven and put the heat on low once I added the potatoes (Yukon or Red, I left the skins on) and soup so that it wouldn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I used red bliss potatoes, half heavy cream and half half and half, and used an immersion blender before adding the potatoes and this was delicious! It was much thicker in the following days so it might be better to make it ahead of time but it was still delicious! Be sure to clean the leeks very thoroughly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I made this soup tonight (with my own little tweeks) and it was AMAZING. My almost 2 year old and VERY picky husband LOVED it. OK... so as for my tweeks, I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 rendered lard instead of 1 cup butter. I didnt add cornstarch. I subbed the heavy cream for 1 cup coconut milk (the beverage kind cause its all we had) and like 1/2 cup sour cream. I also added 2 slices of bacon (cut up into small pieces) when sauteing the leeks in the butter and lard. AMAZINGNESS... the perfect rainy day/feeling yucky soup. I am eating a second bowl as a snack right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States