Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Great base for my pot luck soup. Took some advice and added less butter, but included cayenne pepper, onion powder, crushed garlic cloves. No ham so I rolled and sliced prosciutto and tossed it in. Had a little frozen roasted corn and red peppers in the freezer and added that too. Used the evaporated milk also. LOVED IT on this icy.... snowy... bright sunny Texas day! Pot luck soup for a pot luck day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I added bacon to the recipe. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
i made this twice. It's awesome, I just cut down on butter as others said. I use milk to reduce calories. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veryfiery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This soup is so good and so simple. It's definitely one of my go-to soup recipes. And while I think it's five stars as written, I have made one small adjustment - I sauté the leeks in half the butter called for, plus about a tablespoon of bacon fat. It adds a deeper flavor that is really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Really loved this. I did only use 1/2 butter, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Great recipe! I used only one stick of butter. Instead of 8 oz of heavy cream I used 4 oz of skim milk and 4 oz heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Really good! Could easily use 10% or 18% cream instead of 35% whipping cream to lighten it up a bit if you want to lower calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was dee-lish! I only used one stick of butter, 1 cup of heavy whipping cream , 1 cup of half and half and russet potatoes because that was all I had. I poured half the soup in a blender and it's consistency was very creamy. mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeegaga
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
A good recipe but I expect potato leek w/ out chunks. I guess I need to puree it afterward. It was tasty and I followed exactly. Didn't seem to greasy to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Very simple for when I feel lazy. I usually add some garlic since I love it. At the end of cooking I take out some potatoes and leek and using an immersion blender (aka stick blender) blend the soup then I add the veggies i took out and pulse a few times. I think that the taste with heavy cream is not very good so i always use half and half i would give it 3 1/2 stars if possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States