Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I love this soup! The only things I do different from the recipe are add carrots, mild cheddar, and I make extra potatoes (2 cups) and blend them with about a cup of the chicken broth to thicken up the soup. I just made a fresh batch and I can't wait to devour it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Such a great recipe! It's super creamy and delicious, and is a perfect lunch to take to work with some pumpernickel or sourdough. I made a few adjustments after trying it out the first time. I took advice from others: halved the amount of butter and substituted half&half for the cream. I also added about two sprigs of rosemary and two cloves of garlic roughly chopped. Also, after the potatoes were nice and tender, I blended the finished soup that it was creamy instead of chunky. A wonderful outcome that I'll certainly be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I had never made soup before and was surprised how good this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This recipe was delicious. I used half the butter and half and half instead of cream. I used some kind of giant white onions (looked just like a leek, only a lot cheaper)instead of leeks. Added 3 cloves of chopped garlic during sauté. I also blended half of the soup to make it a little thicker and smooth. Very easy to make. Everyone, including kids, loved it. If you are using chicken broth, don't add any more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Nice! I used coconut milk because I am diary intolerant, added more leeks, cut down significantly on the butter as did other reviewers, and added parsley during the puréeing process. A great dairy free creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Grandkids from 20 months to 13 years old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
As advised by other reviewers, I cut the butter in half and used fat free half and half. I also added cayenne pepper and a few dashes of liquid smoke flavoring. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Love this recipe! It's perfect just the way it is. I have added a couple of carrots to enhance the flavor and it adds a sweeter touch. My family loves this so I make it for just about every gathering so the kids can take some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Pacheco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Next time I will use about 2 more cups of stock and two less leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe, as did my guests! Have made it many times with excellent results. Leeks are now a standard part of my pantry. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States