Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
i made this twice. It's awesome, I just cut down on butter as others said. I use milk to reduce calories. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veryfiery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This soup is so good and so simple. It's definitely one of my go-to soup recipes. And while I think it's five stars as written, I have made one small adjustment - I sauté the leeks in half the butter called for, plus about a tablespoon of bacon fat. It adds a deeper flavor that is really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Really loved this. I did only use 1/2 butter, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Great recipe! I used only one stick of butter. Instead of 8 oz of heavy cream I used 4 oz of skim milk and 4 oz heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Really good! Could easily use 10% or 18% cream instead of 35% whipping cream to lighten it up a bit if you want to lower calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was dee-lish! I only used one stick of butter, 1 cup of heavy whipping cream , 1 cup of half and half and russet potatoes because that was all I had. I poured half the soup in a blender and it's consistency was very creamy. mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeegaga
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
A good recipe but I expect potato leek w/ out chunks. I guess I need to puree it afterward. It was tasty and I followed exactly. Didn't seem to greasy to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Very simple for when I feel lazy. I usually add some garlic since I love it. At the end of cooking I take out some potatoes and leek and using an immersion blender (aka stick blender) blend the soup then I add the veggies i took out and pulse a few times. I think that the taste with heavy cream is not very good so i always use half and half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Prepared as written this made a nice thick and very rich soup. Just the way I love it. Very easy and wonderful recipe. Next time though, I may halve the butter and use half-and-half for the cream. Or not. Hard to improve on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Used three leeks - almost all of them except the very ends (green end). Used yukon golds, 1 cup evaporated milk, 1 cup heavy whipping cream. Added a lot of salt. It was flavorful and bland enough for my kids. Think next time I'll add fresh garlic. Pretty good overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Otankis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States