Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JC Cooks
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Delicious! I made the same adjustments as everyone else; 1/2 cup of butter, half and half instead of heavy cream. I didn't have enough potatoes so I used parsnips and it was just as good, just needed to sit a bit longer. I also added celery. Instead of seasoning with salt (butter and stock provide enough of that) I used just pepper and garlic powder. This a great basic recipe, definitely will keep and make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was the best potato soup ever. I didn't change a thing. Great cooking Julie. My husband just raved about this soup. And it was just delicious. Another winner. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I'm sure this recipe is amazing as is, and I've made it several times, except with vegan ingredients. It changes the recipe quite a bit, but I'd still like to give it 5 stars because it's a simple recipe, it's easy to make vegan, and I think my version is probably just as much a comfort food as the original recipe. Instead of 1 cup of butter, I use 2-3 tablespoons of coconut oil. I use veggie broth instead of chicken, and 1 can of coconut milk instead of 2 cups heavy cream. I also like to add 1 tsp chili powder, and 2 tsp cayenne powder to balance the sweetness of the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This one is a keeper in our house. Only change: I subsituted half and half for heavy cream. We can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breena Clarke
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
this was amazing. I cut back on the butter and used skimmed milk instead but also pureed a portion of the soup so that it was nice and thick but still had bits of potato and leeks. Garnished with bacon wedges & sour dough buns. complete meal !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Tasty... Took the advice of someone and added some mustard powder, garlic powder and some old bay seasoning to the leek mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Made this tonight and it was so good, had the sourdough bread along with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Bowen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
So I was looking for some comfort food WITHOUT A TON OF GUILT. I made several modifications (so i can't truly rate the original recipe) but I absolutely loved the modified final product! -4 T. butter -2 leeks -4 cups redskin potatoes chopped -5 cups chicken broth (I used bouillon) -1 T. Corn startch -1/2 cup half and half -1 1/2 cups non-fat milk -salt and pepper to taste I only used 4 T. of butter in which I sautéed the leeks with the lid on (to keep them from drying out). This only took about 6 minutes on med/low heat. I added the broth and cornstarch as directed but used 4 cups of Redskin potatoes with the skins still on... (So good!). Be sure to salt at this point so the potatoes absorb the salt and therefore, some more flavor. I then boiled the broth and once the potatoes were soft, I mashed 1 1/2 cups of the potatoes and put them back into the soup to help thicken it. I then added 1/2 cup of half and half and 1 1/2 cup non-fat milk and simmered them for about 20 minutes (be sure not to boil after dairy is added). I even calculated the calorie and fat content and of the 10 cups produced, each cup is 162 calories and 7.4 grams of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
So good! I made without the salt (since my butter and chicken stock were salted), no cornstarch, and used 2% condensed milk in place of cream. As per some other reviewers, I also added a little pizzazz: + dash of hot sauce, 1 clove chopped garlic, 1/2 tsp thyme, and pureed the soup once done. Also made a topping of: tomato sauce, roasted peppers, sundried tomato - pureed together, added on the finished soup as a decorative, tasty swirl on top, along with a bit of crumbled bacon. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trolt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Very, very good. Used much less butter (maybe 1.5 T), and used flour instead of cornstarch (just because I don't have any at the moment). Stirred it into the leeks before adding the broth. Used milk, but less. So delicious and creamy, even without being pureed. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States