Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by 4boysmom
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Delicious! Made small tweaks: used 1/2c butter and 1c cream and 1 can evaporated milk. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly then puréed with an immersion blender. Amazing like that, but made leftovers with shredded cheddar and a drizzle of truffle oil! Yum!!!!!! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Splendid, nice flavor. Only change was white pepper. Not because the French use it in clear or pale dishes. I think it is richer in flavor and adds even more to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aduran
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
My wife says it is the best she's ever had! And my five and six-year-olds ate it really fast. I modified as follows: used purple potatoes, used half a cup of coconut oil instead of butter and blended it. Next time I will try the half and half instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Delicious with a capital D! As suggested in another review, I cut the butter in half and used half and half. Otherwise, made per the recipe. Wow! It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great tasting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This is one of those awesome recipes that is perfect the way it was provided, or it can be doctored to suit one's personal taste! I added some thyme and rosemary, as well as shredded cheese. So yum! If I am going to eat butter, bring it on! I expect the calories! Thanks for the fabulous dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I used leftover roasted potatoes...omg...yummy!!! Also added crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I reduced the butter by 1/2 and added 3 cloves of crushed garlic during the cooking of the leeks. It was delicious and easy to make. The next day I added some leftover seafood to it and it was a brand new soup. Nice job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
My husband loves potato leak soup, he often bought it at work for lunch, so I thought it would be fun to make. I followed this recipe exactly and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Great base for my pot luck soup. Took some advice and added less butter, but included cayenne pepper, onion powder, crushed garlic cloves. No ham so I rolled and sliced prosciutto and tossed it in. Had a little frozen roasted corn and red peppers in the freezer and added that too. Used the evaporated milk also. LOVED IT on this icy.... snowy... bright sunny Texas day! Pot luck soup for a pot luck day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States