Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This soup is absolutely fabulous. However, I agree with a few of the other reviews, you really really really don't need a whole cup of butter. I used probably less than 1/2 cup (per Melissajean's review) and the leeks sauteed up nice and tender without any problem. Now, if you LIKE a lot of butter, go for it. But it really doesn't need it. This soup is wonderful and the simplicity of it makes it even more special. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockbourne, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I changed the recipe to 1/4 stick butter, 3 sliced leeks, used half and half, a 7oz container or Fage 2% greek yogurt and vegetable stock. Incredible! I just couldn't do that much butter, my arteries constricted just thinking about it. Wonderful soup!!! Deb S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4boysmom
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Delicious! Made small tweaks: used 1/2c butter and 1c cream and 1 can evaporated milk. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly then puréed with an immersion blender. Amazing like that, but made leftovers with shredded cheddar and a drizzle of truffle oil! Yum!!!!!! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Splendid, nice flavor. Only change was white pepper. Not because the French use it in clear or pale dishes. I think it is richer in flavor and adds even more to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aduran
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
My wife says it is the best she's ever had! And my five and six-year-olds ate it really fast. I modified as follows: used purple potatoes, used half a cup of coconut oil instead of butter and blended it. Next time I will try the half and half instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Delicious with a capital D! As suggested in another review, I cut the butter in half and used half and half. Otherwise, made per the recipe. Wow! It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great tasting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This is one of those awesome recipes that is perfect the way it was provided, or it can be doctored to suit one's personal taste! I added some thyme and rosemary, as well as shredded cheese. So yum! If I am going to eat butter, bring it on! I expect the calories! Thanks for the fabulous dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I used leftover roasted potatoes...omg...yummy!!! Also added crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I reduced the butter by 1/2 and added 3 cloves of crushed garlic during the cooking of the leeks. It was delicious and easy to make. The next day I added some leftover seafood to it and it was a brand new soup. Nice job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States