Potato Leek Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I made this soup for the first time today. I used only 4 lbs. of potatoes but followed the rest of the recipe as it is written. Like other reviewers, the result was more like mashed potato "soup" with some leek flavor. The consistency was too thick to be called a soup. I think the recipe could be improved if there was an option to use fewer potatoes and more chicken stock. I also think one more leek would have made it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Love this soup. I have made it several times. Plan on freezing leeks for making it in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This soup is fantastic. I found you cant skimp on the amount of broth to get the consistency of soup and added additional leeks to the mix. I also added extra wine to help thin out the finished product. The soup is so creamy its hard to believe there is no milk or cream in it. Add some variety with sausage or garnish with Bacon and cheddar cheese. It freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Shenandoah, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hatfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Good base recipe. I made it exactly as written maybe a few less potatoes. My family enjoyed it. Adding more leeks or bacon would enhance the flavor. My daughter has lactose issues so it was great for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I have made this several times it is delicious. My daughter loves it as she is sensitive to milk. This has no milk but is still rich with favor. Quick and easy to make .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I really want to try this recipe, I tried at a restaurant before and I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leeksluvr101

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with wine flavoured mashed potatoes. Very disappointed. More stock required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I have never had Potato Leek Soup before this recipe. I only made this soup because I had left over leeks and had potatoes at home. Glad I did, this was lovely. It was savory and nice and silky. I'll look into alterations later, but what I came out with didn't last a few hours at home. Merci.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Had only 4 lbs of potatatoes - good thing - because after following the other instructions, I had what my husband called "a thick glue pot". Perhaps we can eventually finish this huge pot of soup. Easy to make and if you like potatoes and leeks, very tasty and subtle. The potatoes were going to spoil anyway. I suggest using 2 1/2 to 3 pounds of potatoes, although you can always add more chicken stock. My husband just tried some and suggested a little gravy might do some good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Great recipe...doubled the chicken broth and added another leek....to die for...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States