Potato Leek Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I omitted the butter and fried up a 1/4 lb of bacon. I sautéed the leeks in the bacon fat for extra flavor. I cooked this in my crockpot and ended up using 3 lbs. of potatoes, 1 carton plus 1 can of chicken broth to get the right consistency. I also used my emersion blender to purée the soup because I wanted a creamy not chunky soup. I cooked the potato leek mixture in 1 carton of chicken broth and once I puréed it it seemed too thick, so I added an additional can of broth and then it was just right. I didn't add the wine since I didn't have any on hand, but I think it would add nice flavor and will add it next time if I have some on hand. This soup was thick, rich and creamy, we didn't miss the cream at all. I served each bowl with a dollop of sour cream and the cooked bacon bits with garlic bread on the side. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I made this soup for the first time today. I used only 4 lbs. of potatoes but followed the rest of the recipe as it is written. Like other reviewers, the result was more like mashed potato "soup" with some leek flavor. The consistency was too thick to be called a soup. I think the recipe could be improved if there was an option to use fewer potatoes and more chicken stock. I also think one more leek would have made it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Love this soup. I have made it several times. Plan on freezing leeks for making it in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This soup is fantastic. I found you cant skimp on the amount of broth to get the consistency of soup and added additional leeks to the mix. I also added extra wine to help thin out the finished product. The soup is so creamy its hard to believe there is no milk or cream in it. Add some variety with sausage or garnish with Bacon and cheddar cheese. It freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Shenandoah, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hatfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Good base recipe. I made it exactly as written maybe a few less potatoes. My family enjoyed it. Adding more leeks or bacon would enhance the flavor. My daughter has lactose issues so it was great for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I have made this several times it is delicious. My daughter loves it as she is sensitive to milk. This has no milk but is still rich with favor. Quick and easy to make .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I really want to try this recipe, I tried at a restaurant before and I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leeksluvr101

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with wine flavoured mashed potatoes. Very disappointed. More stock required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I have never had Potato Leek Soup before this recipe. I only made this soup because I had left over leeks and had potatoes at home. Glad I did, this was lovely. It was savory and nice and silky. I'll look into alterations later, but what I came out with didn't last a few hours at home. Merci.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Had only 4 lbs of potatatoes - good thing - because after following the other instructions, I had what my husband called "a thick glue pot". Perhaps we can eventually finish this huge pot of soup. Easy to make and if you like potatoes and leeks, very tasty and subtle. The potatoes were going to spoil anyway. I suggest using 2 1/2 to 3 pounds of potatoes, although you can always add more chicken stock. My husband just tried some and suggested a little gravy might do some good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States