Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These taste just like my grandmother used to make. Delicious with sour cream or applesauce. The textures and flavor were perfect. I used a food processor the first time and a big grater the second time. Both tools make it easy to use fresh potatoes. I just press and drain the potatoes in a colander; no fussing with cheesecloth. The mixture is a little watery but it works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Really enjoyed these. It was my first time making latkes. They were a bit bland so I added some seasoning the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara McKinley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I started using this recipe last year when my daughter and I decided to to learn about Hannukah and the festival of lights. We fell in love with Latkes. We use this recipe often. To season them I use 1/2 ts of season salt and add 1 cube of garlic bullion dissolved in the egg mixture. I also used 3-4 cups of shredded potatoes and still have egg mixture left afterwards. I've also added minced garlic and cilantro. We use it quite often for side dishes or by themselves. It's made me excited to learn more about different cultures and foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe would have been amazing if not for the saltiness. I'm a big fan of salt but this was way too much for even me. I'll probably use just 1/2 teaspoon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Wonderful! Just a really yummy classic. I used veggie oil but that is the only thing I changed. I may add a bit more onion next time. It is now in my recipe box. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by staalv
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
They came out really good. I did double the recipe but only used 3 jumbo eggs and still thought it could use less eggs. I did include matzho meal along with flour since I thought the mixture was to wet. Next time I will reduce the salt as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Getting the potatoes dry is KEY. My mixture was soupy the first time I tried this because I didn't get enough moisture out of the potatoes. A bit more flour provided a quick thickening, but then they are too doughy. It's worth the time to dry the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I actually made these with a group of preschoolers and they were a big hit. I did some real rough measurments too and they turned out great. The kids loved them. Definitley worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Added a little bit of Gouda in the middle of mine. Less onion (my preference). Still ate it with applesauce. DH ate it with sour cream said they were "really good". Squeezing the liquid out after shredding the potatoes really did help. I would suggest doing half the onion if u do a sweet cheese like Gouda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I used more onion as suggested by Rosa. I believe that olive oil would be good...turning it into more of a Spanish dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States