Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I just wanted a quick recipe to remember the ingredients. These are all great, and the shredding/grating debate is totally up to individual taste. The only problem was waaaay too much egg. I wonder if her potatoes are really dry, or her eggs really small. One would be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I did the recipe for my sons first hanukkah (aged 11 months). I made one batch with onion and one without. Im not a fan of the onion flavor but my husband was. Ben gobbed his with sour crean - one in each hand. While my husband who is non Jewish ate them with ketchup for some reason. went home to my parents and made them too my dad LOVED them. they arent Jewish either but they love the foods i make for Jewish holidays and this is one of their favs during hanukkah/christmas time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I like the recipe, and agree with most others on their suggestions. I used 4 medium potatoes and grated them for a better texture. I also used half a sweet onion, grated. Reduced the egg to 1 beaten and reduced the salt to only 1 tsp and added about 1/8 tsp pepper. Instead of 2tbs of flour, I used 4 tbs of Bisquick (trust me on this). Nice and browned and delicious - we had them with galumpkis and topped them with a bit of sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Great recipe. Taste closest to the ones my Mom made us as children. Only changes were grated potatoes vs shredded, less salt, more onion & one egg (as suggested by others) and added a seasoning mix (thyme/rosemary). The recipe components were perfect tho--and easy to change up as to taste. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Awesome tasty results, only used the one egg as suggested and added an egg white that was a leftover from another recipe...didn't have to use the starch water to moisten the patties...a keeper!!! Gone in minutes, and definitely keep them warm in oven til ready to eat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aminarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These taste just like my grandmother used to make. Delicious with sour cream or applesauce. The textures and flavor were perfect. I used a food processor the first time and a big grater the second time. Both tools make it easy to use fresh potatoes. I just press and drain the potatoes in a colander; no fussing with cheesecloth. The mixture is a little watery but it works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Really enjoyed these. It was my first time making latkes. They were a bit bland so I added some seasoning the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara McKinley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I started using this recipe last year when my daughter and I decided to to learn about Hannukah and the festival of lights. We fell in love with Latkes. We use this recipe often. To season them I use 1/2 ts of season salt and add 1 cube of garlic bullion dissolved in the egg mixture. I also used 3-4 cups of shredded potatoes and still have egg mixture left afterwards. I've also added minced garlic and cilantro. We use it quite often for side dishes or by themselves. It's made me excited to learn more about different cultures and foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe would have been amazing if not for the saltiness. I'm a big fan of salt but this was way too much for even me. I'll probably use just 1/2 teaspoon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Wonderful! Just a really yummy classic. I used veggie oil but that is the only thing I changed. I may add a bit more onion next time. It is now in my recipe box. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States