Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
So delicious! We made these for Christmas. Like others, I didn't have peanut oil and used oil I had (canola). I also didn't have a cheesecloth, so I used my hands to try to push out as much liquid as possible. I also used only 2 eggs as a binder and it worked well. Served with chives, grated cheese, bacon, and sour cream. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
These were delicious! Serving suggestion: Put a slice of avocado and a slice of tomato on top. Then on top of that, a fried/scrambled egg. FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
this was one of the best recipes ive ever used! i could eat these all day. i followed other users advice and used only 2 eggs, i also added more onion than called for, garlic, and shredded cheese. i used olive oil to fry them. turned out absolutely amazing. the only thing that could make this better is to add shredded zucchini to the mix, which i cant wait to do the next time i make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Tried this recipe as written. Too much salt, too much egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
GREAT recipe, and I've made a lot of latkes. Perfect consistency, although I quadrupled the quantities, and put in fewer eggs than listed here. I will use this again in the future, ALWAYS. Thanks for sharing, Rachel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Super easy, super yummy. A huge hit! However I chopped finely the potatoes and used an entire big onion, chopped that as well, and used 1 egg per 2 cups as previously recommended by another member and I doubled the salt. These were so easy and perfect and a lot less mess and guessing. I used olive oil to fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
very delish! I used vegetable oil since that is all I had. I also used cracker meal instead of the flour. I love the crunchiness from the cracker meal much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made it just as written and it was very nice. Having had it that way, next time I'll experiment with proportions and add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was my first attempt at making a homemade latke. The batter seemed excessively eggy and the end result was very, very salty. I added more shredded potato as I was frying them to try to combat it but it couldn't counteract all the salt. I think it would be a perfect recipe if the salt was cut by 2/3 and the egg by 1/2. I usually sneer at reviewers for suggesting changes (ie come up with your own recipe if you know so much--ha ha!) and try to stick to the original recipe, but this time I really wish I'd read the other reviews and cut down on the egg and salt. Who knew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffintopmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bedford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
That was really good I would eat this again anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States