Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Everyone in our house loves these. I shredded everything (rather than grating). Used a whole sweet onion, added carrots. Put potatoes into cold water in my salad spinner until ready to use. Drained the water and then spun them dry. Worked beautifully. Used whole wheat flour and 2 eggs for 2 cups of potatoes. Made these with Sarah's Applesauce, and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Wow! I have never had such good potato latkes.These were so unbelieveably delicious! I'm having a brunch so made them the night before. Then reheated in the oven the next morning and served with sour cream and chives. YUMMY! I took the advice from other readers and used only 1 egg for the 2 c. of potatoes. I also used ore -ida frozen shredded hashbrowns that I had thawed in the frig. Instead of grated onion used 1/2 -1 tsp. onion powder and 1 tsp. garlic salt instead of plain salt. And these were a snap to make. This recipe is a real WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Tastes good and easy. I use Simply Shreds or frozen shredded hash browns to make it even easier, I have no patience to shred my own potatoes. Anything can be added to make this your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Never having latkes before we didn't have anything to gauge authenticity on, but we couldn't say we were that thrilled with the flavor. They'll be tried again with one less egg and a lot more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KP1219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made these tonight and they were gobbled up quickly. I served them with sour cream and applesauce. They tasted great with both. I added more onion, a little less salt and used light olive oil to fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandyLogan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are really yummy and whip up in no time. I had already grated the potato when I realized I didn't have an onion, so I subbed onion powder instead. My kids really enjoyed them--One said they taste like a cross between a tater tot and a hashbrown. (It was our first time eating latkes) I think these will be made for breakfast quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very easy- I don't have too much experience with cooking things like this, but decided to give it a try as it is one of my favorite foods. I found it very easy to make, and had a lot left over for the next night! Will definetly make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I love, love, love this latke recipe! Instead of shredding potatoes, you can get frozen hashbrowns & thaw what you need to use in the fridge, which is what we do- as it's a lot easier! These latkes cook up a little fluffy, & golden brown- just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States