Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
ok, so latkes might not be for me, and they definately aren't for the boyfriend. while i could eat them, and they weren't bad he just couldn't get through it i'll be making him something later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aura_bryt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grayland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Thanks Rachel for the great recipe! I used this to jump start my Chanukah season and refresh my memory on how to make them. I vary the ingredients amounts and add a wonderful basil poultry rub (basil, thyme, sage among other things) to enhance all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These were awesome, my husband made them and they were perfect. This was our first time celebrating hanukkah, so we made some of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Finally! SImple, delicious! Exactly what I've been looking for! Now my husband is eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
love that you use peanut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I first tried this recipe as written several months ago and they came out thick and salty. I decided to try again with only 1 egg per 2 cups potatoes and a bit less than 1 tsp salt - they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
It's important to pick the right kind of potato for latkes - might I recommend russets. I chose big ones at the store that looked like they were getting old. Why pick old potatoes? Less moisture content! That means lighter, crispier texture when you fry them. (Oil doesn't like water, remember.) Don't forget to squeeze out as much moisture as you can, per the recipe instructions. I used about twice as much grated onion, and substituted matzoh meal for the flour. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I used only 2 eggs and a bit more onion and these came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centereach, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I liked them! They cooked up great, they were delicious and easy to make. I like them with matzoh meal, but I thought the flour worked just as well (and I didn't have any matzoh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I followed the other reviewers' suggestions of the potato to egg ratio. I also used yukon gold potatoes. The latkes were DELICIOUS!!! I ended up making a double recipe and we finished them off. We used apple sauce and sour cream for dipping. This recipe will definitely be used again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkathleenm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States