Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
What I like to do with these is to grate the potatoes, as opposed to shredding. I find the texture much more appealing. More like a potato pancake, instead of a true latkes, but that's just my personal preference. For every 2 cups of grated potato, one egg is really a sufficient binder, and any more than that just makes them too heavy. I also use alot less salt, but that again is to taste. Instead of the flour, I have also found better results substituting matzoh ball mix, which contains baking soda and seasonings. They seem to come out lighter, and more flavorful this way. Don't forget to add the grated onion... it's an absolute must in my opinion, and here again, I add twice as much. And I personally have never bothered with the cheesecloth thing. As you lift out spoonfuls, the moisture simply seeps to the bottom of the bowl. No problem. Don't wait for Hannukah to enjoy these treats, and don't forget the applesauce (or sour cream.) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
777 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I love making Latkes the easy way!! I use the Simply Potatoes already grated! They make wonderful and delicious Latkes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
647 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savta Sinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brazil, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These latkes were so awesome, just like my grandmother and mom used to make. I only used 1 egg per 2 cups of potato. I used the food processor's large grater blade and kept the grated potato in ice water until I had all the ingredients in the bowl and then squeezed the water out and added them. I used matzoh meal instead of flour and I used about triple the grated onion. I fried them in vegetable oil. They were great, but definitely on the salty side. The mixture was a little watery but it made no difference in the end, there was liquid in the bowl when I was done. I think the matzah meal was key. Next time I would use less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
500 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This was a bit eggy for me. I will definitely only use 1 egg next time. I prefer to be able to taste the potato more. Also, I read an article about the perfect latke and it said the best temperature is 350 degrees. I used my metal thermometer to make sure it was that hot before I started and it made a big difference. The cooked perfectly. I have had them fall apart before in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I made these for Easter/Passover and they turned out great! I remember when my mom would make these, and she would always complain about the shredding of the potatoes, but it really wasn't a big deal--in fact, it was kind of fun. To keep the potatoes from oxidizing, I would ring out the water from the potatoes after every two thirds of a potato peeled with paper towels (because I didn't have cheese cloth on hand). Paper towels worked just fine. The sooner you ring out the potatoes after shredding, the less oxidation occurs. Once rung out, they keep pretty well. I also added extra onion. I was told to be a true latke, you make them small and thin, and cook the heck out of them. The cooking took longer than the shredding, that's for sure. Excellent as leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was AMAZING. I didnt have peanut oil so I used vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFWANDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
These were really delicious! I doubled the onions and still needed more...I'll add more next time. I went with other reviewers and added garlic powder and only used 1 egg per 2 cups of shredded potatoes. It was a bit on the salty side so next time I'll reduce the salt. Very easy to make - great recipe...thanks Rachel!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
I have never made Latkes before but these were a breeze! I used my food processor (I know..kind of cheating) and it was so simple. I also used olive oil instead of peanut oil and they still tasted great. Thanks Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
I just made these for brakfast and loved them. I didn't have an onion so used powdered onion and some garlic salt. The first time i made them to thick. The next batch i made thinner and they were more crunchy and much better. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
So simple, yet so tasty. I get out the food processer and use the grating blade for the onions and potatoes, then squeeze the liquid out using a towel. My picky family even eats the applesauce and sour cream served with them. I used chives instead of green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States