Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
As written, I give it three stars. It has way too much egg and not enough onion. If you reduce it to just one egg (two at the absolute most), double or even triple the onion, and use matzo meal or panko instead of flour, you'll have a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I've done these often. I brown the onions in butter before adding. I also add shredded asiago cheese, and for gluten free, use corn meal instead of flour. Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dudetimemachine
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
The only thing I did different was use 1 egg instead of 3. Other than that, these were excellent. I haven't had these since I was a kid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I definitely would add double onions, but other than that...lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I just wanted a quick recipe to remember the ingredients. These are all great, and the shredding/grating debate is totally up to individual taste. The only problem was waaaay too much egg. I wonder if her potatoes are really dry, or her eggs really small. One would be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I did the recipe for my sons first hanukkah (aged 11 months). I made one batch with onion and one without. Im not a fan of the onion flavor but my husband was. Ben gobbed his with sour crean - one in each hand. While my husband who is non Jewish ate them with ketchup for some reason. went home to my parents and made them too my dad LOVED them. they arent Jewish either but they love the foods i make for Jewish holidays and this is one of their favs during hanukkah/christmas time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I like the recipe, and agree with most others on their suggestions. I used 4 medium potatoes and grated them for a better texture. I also used half a sweet onion, grated. Reduced the egg to 1 beaten and reduced the salt to only 1 tsp and added about 1/8 tsp pepper. Instead of 2tbs of flour, I used 4 tbs of Bisquick (trust me on this). Nice and browned and delicious - we had them with galumpkis and topped them with a bit of sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Great recipe. Taste closest to the ones my Mom made us as children. Only changes were grated potatoes vs shredded, less salt, more onion & one egg (as suggested by others) and added a seasoning mix (thyme/rosemary). The recipe components were perfect tho--and easy to change up as to taste. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Awesome tasty results, only used the one egg as suggested and added an egg white that was a leftover from another recipe...didn't have to use the starch water to moisten the patties...a keeper!!! Gone in minutes, and definitely keep them warm in oven til ready to eat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aminarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States