Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are really yummy and whip up in no time. I had already grated the potato when I realized I didn't have an onion, so I subbed onion powder instead. My kids really enjoyed them--One said they taste like a cross between a tater tot and a hashbrown. (It was our first time eating latkes) I think these will be made for breakfast quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very easy- I don't have too much experience with cooking things like this, but decided to give it a try as it is one of my favorite foods. I found it very easy to make, and had a lot left over for the next night! Will definetly make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I love, love, love this latke recipe! Instead of shredding potatoes, you can get frozen hashbrowns & thaw what you need to use in the fridge, which is what we do- as it's a lot easier! These latkes cook up a little fluffy, & golden brown- just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Good recipe! My latkes were tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These turned out great! My boyfriend commented on how much prep was involved but it was festive and fun to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
great recipe. used to make my own, but found it a pain grating the potatoes and getting the water out of them. i switched to a mix until i read savta's hint and i used simply shredded potatoes. couldn't have been any easier. i increased the amount of onion and decreased the salt a little. i also used 1 egg instead of the 3 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I would only use 2 eggs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LKP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
For the people who asked, grate and shred are different. Shred is larger like hash browns and grate is more mushy not separate pieces. I made these last year & am making again today for a late Hanukkah party. I adjusted recipe per the first review. I grate instead of shred. Like my dad used to but I use food processor and do not bother peeling. I used matzoh ball mix instead of flour, more onion, cut down eggs and added no salt. I sprinkle with kosher salt as soon as they are done frying. Then you actually get all the flavors and salt is one of the flavors. Not just salty. I use a mix of vegetable and peanut oil. Peanut oil makes it more stable at a higher heat so they are crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowkatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I was looking for a recipie that was similar to the one my dad always made us as kids and this may just have been the same exact thing! Absolutely wonderful. My boyfriend and ALL of my uber-jewish friends thought they were great! Followed the recipe to a "t" and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States