Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Good recipe! My latkes were tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These turned out great! My boyfriend commented on how much prep was involved but it was festive and fun to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
great recipe. used to make my own, but found it a pain grating the potatoes and getting the water out of them. i switched to a mix until i read savta's hint and i used simply shredded potatoes. couldn't have been any easier. i increased the amount of onion and decreased the salt a little. i also used 1 egg instead of the 3 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I would only use 2 eggs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LKP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
For the people who asked, grate and shred are different. Shred is larger like hash browns and grate is more mushy not separate pieces. I made these last year & am making again today for a late Hanukkah party. I adjusted recipe per the first review. I grate instead of shred. Like my dad used to but I use food processor and do not bother peeling. I used matzoh ball mix instead of flour, more onion, cut down eggs and added no salt. I sprinkle with kosher salt as soon as they are done frying. Then you actually get all the flavors and salt is one of the flavors. Not just salty. I use a mix of vegetable and peanut oil. Peanut oil makes it more stable at a higher heat so they are crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowkatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I was looking for a recipie that was similar to the one my dad always made us as kids and this may just have been the same exact thing! Absolutely wonderful. My boyfriend and ALL of my uber-jewish friends thought they were great! Followed the recipe to a "t" and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I made this and you can grate your potato, after peeling of course, the same as you do the onion. 3 medium size will make 10-12 pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
First time i made them.Very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Nibbler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These were great! They didn't fall apart in the oil like other recipes I have tried in the past. I definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessieleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I used my food processor to shred the potatoes, used dehydrated onion instead of fresh (to save time), and fried in olive oil. Happy Chanukkah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States