Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I had a huge bag of frozen shredded potato and thought I'd try Latkes for the first time. I was not excited about the frying so I checked out some other recipes and came up with this. I mixed about 4 cups with dried onion flakes, salt, pepper, 1 tsp baking powder, 4 tbl flour, and 2 beaten eggs. I baked them (1/4 c scoop then flattened) in my convection oven at 400 deg, on a cookie sheet covered in foil and sprayed with cooking oil. 10-15 min/side. Very crunchy, like a hearty potato chip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whisperschips
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whisperschips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
We had a pile of potatoes that needed to be used up and I wanted to try something new. I'd never had latkes before and this was obviously my first time making them. Though I have nothing to compare them to, I thought they were just great! My hubby thought so, too. Didn't have applesauce on hand, but they tasted great with sour cream and a sprinke of salt (after I cut back on the salt in the recipe, as per many reviewer suggestions). I doubled the recipe and used three eggs as many reviewers suggested cutting back on how many eggs were needed. Anyway, my food processor made this very simple to make and it will most certainly be a regular in our household. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zuan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Everyone in our house loves these. I shredded everything (rather than grating). Used a whole sweet onion, added carrots. Put potatoes into cold water in my salad spinner until ready to use. Drained the water and then spun them dry. Worked beautifully. Used whole wheat flour and 2 eggs for 2 cups of potatoes. Made these with Sarah's Applesauce, and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Wow! I have never had such good potato latkes.These were so unbelieveably delicious! I'm having a brunch so made them the night before. Then reheated in the oven the next morning and served with sour cream and chives. YUMMY! I took the advice from other readers and used only 1 egg for the 2 c. of potatoes. I also used ore -ida frozen shredded hashbrowns that I had thawed in the frig. Instead of grated onion used 1/2 -1 tsp. onion powder and 1 tsp. garlic salt instead of plain salt. And these were a snap to make. This recipe is a real WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Tastes good and easy. I use Simply Shreds or frozen shredded hash browns to make it even easier, I have no patience to shred my own potatoes. Anything can be added to make this your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Never having latkes before we didn't have anything to gauge authenticity on, but we couldn't say we were that thrilled with the flavor. They'll be tried again with one less egg and a lot more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KP1219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made these tonight and they were gobbled up quickly. I served them with sour cream and applesauce. They tasted great with both. I added more onion, a little less salt and used light olive oil to fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandyLogan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are really yummy and whip up in no time. I had already grated the potato when I realized I didn't have an onion, so I subbed onion powder instead. My kids really enjoyed them--One said they taste like a cross between a tater tot and a hashbrown. (It was our first time eating latkes) I think these will be made for breakfast quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States