Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Not a bad base recipe. Good, but a bit bland for my tastes, and that was with using more onion than actually called for. I'll have to play around with the spices next time I make them. I didn't have peanut oil, so I used olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HermioneAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkerton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Cutting the eggs from 3 to 1 and replacing the flour with matzo ball mix, as other reviewers suggested, made all the difference in the world. Excellent results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Good, but greasy. Like any other fried potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I use 1 egg for every 2 cups of shredded potatoes like many reviewers had suppgested. I also added alot more grated onion and less salt, about 1tsp of onion powder and some parsely flakes. They really have a nice flavor. My bf prefer these cold. I thought i was going to have leftovers and woke up to none.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Just like my grandparents used to make. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I had a huge bag of frozen shredded potato and thought I'd try Latkes for the first time. I was not excited about the frying so I checked out some other recipes and came up with this. I mixed about 4 cups with dried onion flakes, salt, pepper, 1 tsp baking powder, 4 tbl flour, and 2 beaten eggs. I baked them (1/4 c scoop then flattened) in my convection oven at 400 deg, on a cookie sheet covered in foil and sprayed with cooking oil. 10-15 min/side. Very crunchy, like a hearty potato chip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whisperschips
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whisperschips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
We had a pile of potatoes that needed to be used up and I wanted to try something new. I'd never had latkes before and this was obviously my first time making them. Though I have nothing to compare them to, I thought they were just great! My hubby thought so, too. Didn't have applesauce on hand, but they tasted great with sour cream and a sprinke of salt (after I cut back on the salt in the recipe, as per many reviewer suggestions). I doubled the recipe and used three eggs as many reviewers suggested cutting back on how many eggs were needed. Anyway, my food processor made this very simple to make and it will most certainly be a regular in our household. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zuan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Everyone in our house loves these. I shredded everything (rather than grating). Used a whole sweet onion, added carrots. Put potatoes into cold water in my salad spinner until ready to use. Drained the water and then spun them dry. Worked beautifully. Used whole wheat flour and 2 eggs for 2 cups of potatoes. Made these with Sarah's Applesauce, and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Wow! I have never had such good potato latkes.These were so unbelieveably delicious! I'm having a brunch so made them the night before. Then reheated in the oven the next morning and served with sour cream and chives. YUMMY! I took the advice from other readers and used only 1 egg for the 2 c. of potatoes. I also used ore -ida frozen shredded hashbrowns that I had thawed in the frig. Instead of grated onion used 1/2 -1 tsp. onion powder and 1 tsp. garlic salt instead of plain salt. And these were a snap to make. This recipe is a real WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States