Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
YUMMY! My kids LOVED these and request them often :) My friend suggested to have them less hashbrown-like to food process (slightly) half the potato mixture and then return to the bowl before frying. That worked out great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TripletMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I agree with other reviewer, too eggy. Plus I was confused as to how much shredded potatatoe-measured out before or after draining in the cheesecloth. Maybe that affected mine. Also I added a little extra onion as another reviewer did and maybe that was counter productive. Will try again with only one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These are great. Does anyone know if they can be made ahead and frozen? There were none left for me to try freezing when I made them! I'm hoping to form them, freeze them and cook them off as I need/want for family dinners. Any hints?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I love this recipe, it is so easy and they come out very good. There is way too much salt though. I would only put about 1/2 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My husband who LOVES just meat and mashed potatoes finally liked something new. I made these last night with peameal bacon for supper, and he loved them. I was so glad because meat and potatoes every night can get boring real fast. Thanks Rachel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milverton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is exactly the way my hubby remembers them from his childhood. He loves this Recipe... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovebug
Home Town: Hope, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I never made latkes before but the recipe didn't look too difficult. The most tedious part was getting all the water out of the potatoes and onions....other than than it was a breeze. You definately have to make sure the oil is hot enough. I followed another reviewers choice to use vegie oil and I used only 3/4 cup of egg beaters instead of three eggs. I will give it 5 stars even though it was modified....and they tasted great. ** You can add a lil spicey cajun seasoning for an added kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
i used not oil but butter and it turned out so amazing!! it made it less greasy, but it gave it the "butter taste" :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Awesome! So easy to make. The simple ingredients were far more flavorful than I thought they would be. We will definitely make this again! We served them with sour cream on top. (89)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Awesome recipe! Add 1 cup of peeled grated carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States