Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I first tried this recipe as written several months ago and they came out thick and salty. I decided to try again with only 1 egg per 2 cups potatoes and a bit less than 1 tsp salt - they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
It's important to pick the right kind of potato for latkes - might I recommend russets. I chose big ones at the store that looked like they were getting old. Why pick old potatoes? Less moisture content! That means lighter, crispier texture when you fry them. (Oil doesn't like water, remember.) Don't forget to squeeze out as much moisture as you can, per the recipe instructions. I used about twice as much grated onion, and substituted matzoh meal for the flour. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I used only 2 eggs and a bit more onion and these came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centereach, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I liked them! They cooked up great, they were delicious and easy to make. I like them with matzoh meal, but I thought the flour worked just as well (and I didn't have any matzoh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I followed the other reviewers' suggestions of the potato to egg ratio. I also used yukon gold potatoes. The latkes were DELICIOUS!!! I ended up making a double recipe and we finished them off. We used apple sauce and sour cream for dipping. This recipe will definitely be used again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkathleenm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
My husband hates latkes, but he LOVES these! So easy to make! I didn't have a cheesecloth, so I just used a papertowel to drain the excess water. Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Very easy to make, and I used the Matzo (sp) and 1 egg for binding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
For us this didn't have enough flavor and was too mushy. I did cut back on the egg and oil though. Adding pepper helped a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
These come out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Lilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
These were great - just like my mom and grandma make for Chanukkah! The only thing I changed was to follow the advice of some other reviewers (and my mom) - I used only 2 eggs and grated 3 small red onions into the potato mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Dartmouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kampala, Central Region, Uganda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States