Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I love potato pancakes! This recipe is so much easier than the Swiss pancakes I usually make. Very simple & very good! I made 3 cups with 4 eggs & another half tablespoon of flour. I also used onion powder. I must have made huge cakes because I got 9 even with the extra cup. I WILL make it again & play with the amounts, but I thoroughly enjoyed them with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
(Update...) made these again in my husband's grandma's ancient waffle iron with a little olive oil spray. SO EASY, LESS MESSY, PROBABLY HEALTHIER. (first review) Wow! Followed other advice, tripled onion and only one egg. Added a tsp of baking powder and some garlic. These were awesome for husband and two toddlers. Will make again and figure out how to hide other veggies in them. Hubs liked the shredded potato better than other grated versions. Will heat up leftovers and put a runny egg on top for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Rachel, I love Latkes and this was my first time making them successfully. Your recipe was easy to follow and produced the most delicious, totally-not-greasy, mouth-watering, crispy, flavorful, can't-stop-eating-them Latkes. They were exactly how I wanted them. I used virgin coconut oil to fry them in. Extra thank you's for sharing the best Latkes recipe. Annabelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
These were very good! I used about twice the onions and only one egg for the whole batch, as well as only a few dashes of salt (I added salt to it and ate it like a hash-brown-like-pancake after it was fried). Also I didn't have peanut oil but vegetable oil worked great at just over medium heat. Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
We LOVE potatoes and these were a huge hit at our house party. Guests are thrilled to be served something that is so wholesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoLaB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I used less salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
These were a hit! A teensy bit too eggy for what we were looking for, but overall delicious. I think I'd maybe just cut down the amount of egg slightly next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Awesome! I added garlic and ground peppercorn medley and Johnny seasoning salt to mine. I also served turkey sausage with the meal and cooked some of the latkes in the droppings after adding canola oil. My husband talked about them the next morning. A great first potato dish for potato rookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Three stars because I had to make some changes. (My latkes came out great and tasty though.) Like what everyone else is saying, there is too much egg in this recipe. I mixed three eggs in with the other ingredients and thought to myself, "It seems too wet." So I diced up about another cup and half of potato to add in. Also, I added more onion. (I love onion so I diced up a small one and mixed it in.) Of course I added a little more flour. So my mix was about 3/4 potato and the rest was wet. I put in some salt and pepper and fried it up. (Hot oil makes all the difference, don't allow it to become tepid). It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I did shred the potatoes and grated the onions. No need for the cheesecloth. Just put the mixture between your hands and squeeze, letting all the moisture out. I also used 3 Tbs. grated onion, 1 egg, 3 Tbs. flour and fried it in half peanut oil and half canola oil. These have to be eaten as soon as they are off the frying pan and put on paper towls for a minute. Serve with Sour cream. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ukienomad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States