Potato Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Lots of potential. I thought I'd beat the odds and NOT need to pre-cook the potatoes if I sliced them thin enough, but even after 45min. in the oven, they were not quite fully cooked. Tons of potential here, it's a great tasting, hardy veggie dish. Added extra spices (onion powder, italian spices...) and some parm/romano cheese to the mix added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I pretty much stuck to the recipe except I cooked it for about 15 minutes longer. It was really good. The potatoes were not as tender as expected but they were tender enough to eat. In fact had they been any softer I may not have liked it as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Loved this recipe. My husband and toddlers did, too! I didn't have any Gouda, so I used Parmesan. And, I did add some Oregano and Basil. Cooked for an hour covered and 15 minutes uncovered. The potatoes were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
It's difficult to get the potatoes thin enough. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to cook them before layering the lasagna or not, so we didn't. Definitely make sure you cover this up with foil, or the potatoes will be tough. We might try this again, with regular gouda instead of smoked gouda. The smoky flavor was too overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Using what I had on hand, I ended up changing this entire recipe but for my own personal record, will comment and rate it. I used white potatoes, cut very thinly (mandolin size), sliced zucchini in place of the carrots, red pepper instead of the green, and a cheese fondue mixture (we live in Switzerland so American cheeses are hard to come by). I added a container of cottage cheese and used seasoned tomato puree instead of the vodka sauce. So really a completely different recipe but very tasty. It ended up like more of a Lasagna Stew which I thought was delish and so did the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I am a terrible cook. I never know what goes well together so I have to follow recipes exactly. I made this for dinner last night and could not believe how delicious it was! First of all, I don't like to cook but this recipe was very easy so that's a big plus. Second, I don't usually like what I make even though the rest of my family loves my cooking. But when I sat down to eat this meal, I could not wait to have seconds. It didn't taste like what I expected from the ingredients. It was very different, and very yummy. I cannot wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
potatoes did not cook well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I looked at all of the reviews prior to making this. You do not need to cook the potatoes beforehand provided you slice them thinly (I used my mandolin) and you bake the dish a bit longer (I did 1 hour covered, 15 minutes uncovered). I also wouldn't use red potatoes since they don't get quite as soft as other types. I mixed some seasonings into the vegetable mixture (oregano, parsley, garlic, salt and pepper) and used a basil tomato sauce. It was outstanding. Thanks for the concept!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
this was a pretty good recipe, but I would suggest more marinara sauce and more cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I thought this was great, although a bit of work. Do slice the potatoes VERY thinly and cook longer (I cooked for 1hr 15mins. Used tomato/basil spaghetti sauce and added some ground beef to the sauce. Threw in extra veggies and fresh parsley and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justme

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States