Potato Klubb (Norwegian Potato Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My son made this with me for Easter Brunch. He deceided to fry a pound of bacon and then crumble it up and mix it in the dough. He also could find only organic red potatoes at the store. There was almost no water that drained off them. I have made these for over 30 years and this was the best batch I have ever had. We called it Krub in my family too. We make them about tennis ball size and then slightly flatten them. They cook faster that way. My mom made them the size of baseballs and they took much longer to cook. Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glacierlily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Froid, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This recipe brings back so many memories. I make it mostly in the winter. I found you have to use red potatoes so they stay together. I also use cubed salt pork which is what my grandmother and mother always made it with. My mother used a grinder but I use a processor and the grinding blade. After many years of making this I found the key to success is putting the ground potatoes into a sieve and squeeze as much of the liquid out before you add the flour. It is wonderful sliced and fried in butter the next day. We always serve it with a lot of butter, salt, and pepper. My grandmother called it klubb. It is good old fashioned comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I grew up with this (my ancestors' area of Norway called it kumle), and I've FINALLY found the recipe my grandma must have used. It has nothing to do with the recipe, but I've never been able to find the ham Grandma used to serve alongside the kumle, never inside. I also used at least half again as much flour to make the "thick bread dough" consistency. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
We also made it this way and called it Krub. We grind the potato or run them through the food prossesor...preferably grinding. mix with your hands and be prepared to get really full of goop. keep adding flour untill it is fairly stiff and sticky. make a "nest" of potato/flour in hand and add the diced ham. I totally agree about the next days breakfast....YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
A person might try using regular cooked and shredded pork instead of ham. Add chopped onion and salt/pepper with the pork inside the dumpling. Try using a blender created thick soup mixture of potato instead of grated. Make the dumplings about the size of a half baseball but oblong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
My father made this recipe...called kumle...and I remember he put pulsa (a fat norwegian hot dog) or lamb in the middle. I also remember he used potato flour instead of the regular flour. He boiled this in a big pot filled with turnips, pulsa, and lamb. It was one of my favorites, along with fislkebola, krumkaka, wafla and a prune dessert with cream at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Several generations of my family love this and consider it a special treat! We called it Koomlah, and we all love it fried the next morning too. We have frozen some of the koomlah for a few weeks and that works well also. I will try it with the ham cubes, it should be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
To those who have never made these, they do turn a different color since the potatoes oxidize. They aren't supposed to be light or airy (my dad likes to call them Norwegian cannonballs). Grandpa always said that if they didn't drop to the bottom there was something wrong with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
In my Norwegian family, we call it raspabella. Rye flour is frequently used as well as a grated rutabaga, never onions. We boil a ham, then cook the dumplings in the stock. The ham (which tastes wonderful when boiled) is served as a side dish--the raspabella takes center stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valleyford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
We have been making our version of Klubb for over 33 years. We love it made with a sausage ball instead of a cube of ham and we use equal portions of white flour and graham flour. We put extra sausage in the water along with rutabega and turnips and at the very end add cabbage and let steam. We then serve it with sour cream. We make this every year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States