Potato Klubb (Norwegian Potato Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
In my Norwegian family, we call it raspabella. Rye flour is frequently used as well as a grated rutabaga, never onions. We boil a ham, then cook the dumplings in the stock. The ham (which tastes wonderful when boiled) is served as a side dish--the raspabella takes center stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valleyford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
My father made this recipe...called kumle...and I remember he put pulsa (a fat norwegian hot dog) or lamb in the middle. I also remember he used potato flour instead of the regular flour. He boiled this in a big pot filled with turnips, pulsa, and lamb. It was one of my favorites, along with fislkebola, krumkaka, wafla and a prune dessert with cream at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This recipe brings back so many memories. I make it mostly in the winter. I found you have to use red potatoes so they stay together. I also use cubed salt pork which is what my grandmother and mother always made it with. My mother used a grinder but I use a processor and the grinding blade. After many years of making this I found the key to success is putting the ground potatoes into a sieve and squeeze as much of the liquid out before you add the flour. It is wonderful sliced and fried in butter the next day. We always serve it with a lot of butter, salt, and pepper. My grandmother called it klubb. It is good old fashioned comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Several generations of my family love this and consider it a special treat! We called it Koomlah, and we all love it fried the next morning too. We have frozen some of the koomlah for a few weeks and that works well also. I will try it with the ham cubes, it should be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
We also made it this way and called it Krub. We grind the potato or run them through the food prossesor...preferably grinding. mix with your hands and be prepared to get really full of goop. keep adding flour untill it is fairly stiff and sticky. make a "nest" of potato/flour in hand and add the diced ham. I totally agree about the next days breakfast....YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My son made this with me for Easter Brunch. He deceided to fry a pound of bacon and then crumble it up and mix it in the dough. He also could find only organic red potatoes at the store. There was almost no water that drained off them. I have made these for over 30 years and this was the best batch I have ever had. We called it Krub in my family too. We make them about tennis ball size and then slightly flatten them. They cook faster that way. My mom made them the size of baseballs and they took much longer to cook. Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glacierlily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Froid, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I grew up with this (my ancestors' area of Norway called it kumle), and I've FINALLY found the recipe my grandma must have used. It has nothing to do with the recipe, but I've never been able to find the ham Grandma used to serve alongside the kumle, never inside. I also used at least half again as much flour to make the "thick bread dough" consistency. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
A person might try using regular cooked and shredded pork instead of ham. Add chopped onion and salt/pepper with the pork inside the dumpling. Try using a blender created thick soup mixture of potato instead of grated. Make the dumplings about the size of a half baseball but oblong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
These didn't turn out for me at all, but to the recipes defense I used the Simply Potatos brand of hashbrowns that are pre-packaged and that might have had something to do with it. In looking back I feel I should have used more flour as well because they just fell apart in the water. I am going to try this recipe again with "real" potatos and use my Kitchen Aid to mix in the flour so I can get more in. I was really excited to make this recipe work as I remember eating these when I was a kid. OK I tried it for a second time with real potatos and followed recipe exactly. They still fell apart on me in the simmer process. Will not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States