Potato, Ham, Broccoli and Cheese Soup with Baby Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This turned out great! Very forgiving. I had few plain potatoes so I used a bagged stew vegetable mix of potatoes, pearl onions, celery, and carrots. I also had only about 1.5 to 2 cups of cheese, so I lessened the milk to 3 cups. In addition I added a splash of ground mustard. Everything else was roughly as stated in the recipe. Even with these changes it was great! My toddler and husband both devoured it. Huge success! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami West

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hungary
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this and loved it! The only thing I changed was that I added some bacon. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danee4tyler
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Made this tonight but did mine in the crock pot instead for 7 hours on medium. I followed the recipe as far as sautéing the celery and onion but then took it a step further and browned my ham and I added corn and browned that a little too. I added the milk but also used about 6-7 cups of ham broth from my ham bone. The seasonings were great especially the cayenne pepper. Gave it a small kick that hit the spot. We ate this on a cold rainy gloomy day so it was the perfect ending to our day. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is the kind of soup I never make because it is rich and starchy. But it was a cold night and this fit some things I wanted to use up. Mmmm...hit the spot! My one real change was to use red bell peppers instead of carrots. Also I used mostly 1% milk and 1/2 cup heavy cream. These changes were just to use up some odds and ends. I don't know how the dumplings were supposed to be, but they mainly thickened the soup and gave it texture. They were not actually noticeable when eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
my family loved it will for sure make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was really yummy though I made three changes: olive oil instead of butter (and I used about 1/2 as much), added about 1 cup of corn taken off the cob and only two cloves of garlic instead of the four. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I made this vegetarian by using vegetable broth and substituting a half bag of split peas for the ham. The peas made the soup really ugly, but if you can see passed ugly food, it was tasty. I made ham on the side for the non-vegetarians. It really needs the ham. Without the ham, it needs a lot more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
WOW! WOW! WOW!!! I modified this recipe for a low carb diet and it was fantastic. I can only assume that the fully loaded recipe as written would be out of this universe. The changes I made to make it low carb were: no potatoes (instead I used some cauliflower), no carrot, no flour (and therefore no need for the egg). After adding the chicken stock, I added the broccoli and cauliflower, brought to a boil and then simmered for 15 minutes. Then I added the 4 cups of milk. To thicken the soup, I used another 1/2 cup of milk with 1/4 cup of cornstarch blended together and then slowly poured in before I added the ham and cheese. I brought the pre-ham and cheese mixture to a small boil to thicken. Then added the ham and slowly the shredded cheese to melt it consistently. Also, in the very beginning, I browned the diced ham in the soup pot, removed the ham but let the crusty stuff on the bottom of the pan. Then I added the butter and sautéed the onions and celery, and went on with the recipe. I feel like this is a very decadent meal and I'm not missing out on any flavor at all! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This soup was AWESOME! I followed the directions to a T and it came out perfect. I did add an extra carrot! I did not have cayenne or thyme and I didn't replace them with anything. The flavor was great. My husband loved it and so did I . Will def make again soon. Next time I will a couple more carrots and celery, I really like veggies. NOTE: sprinkle green onions and bacon on top before serving, looks great and tastes better!!! thanks for sharing a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
We loved it but will do less of the Baby Dumplings. other then that it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Trujillo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States