Potato Enchilada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
this recipe is only kinda ok. i only made it because someone gave me a ton of processed cheese to use up. if i do make this again, i will be using frozen hashbrowns rather than going through all the work of shredding potatoes and attempting to fry them..... mine turned out sticky and grey-ish. and please tell me no one is using canned peas, ugg... at least frozen ones won't disentigrate into oblivion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
The original recipe is fine as is, but I made it better. I used frozen shredded hashbrowns, sauted them with 1/2 diced onion. I seasoned the potatoes with black pepper and seasoning salt. Then I mixed in drained, rinsed black beans (instead of the peas) and frozen corn. No mashing required--it actually looked pretty good. You could also saute a bell pepper, I would think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
It was great. My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I used shredded sharp cheddar cheese instead of the process stuff. I also used Muir Glen Organic Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes with Green Chiles along with a dash of jalapeno sauce. I topped with sour cream and avocado. My husband said "A++" and he is a meat and potatoes guy. We will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I love potato enchiladas. I use red or sweet potato or banana squash in mine. Can also use zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Canned peas? Blechhh. I used black beans instead. Much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Pontificator

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
It tastes really good. Since reviewers noted some "bland" flavor, I added about 3-4 drops of tobasco hot sauce to the tomato and since other said it looks... blah (?), before eating it, I took off my glasses !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was okay, but a little too bland for me. I think kids would like it though, not too many strong flavors. I did not have any processed cheese, so used shredded cheese instead. If I make this again, I might add some spices and/or maybe make some kind of red sauce to go over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Took us a lot longer to make. Shredding the potatoes is a pain. If I had to do it again I would use frozen hashbrowns. Looks gross like everyone says, but it was delicious. I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Well, it certainly does look icky, but, it tasted good. I admit I was a skeptic. I added left over chicken that I had bar-b -qued the night before (1 cup) and loved it and will make it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States