Potato Enchilada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
this recipe is only kinda ok. i only made it because someone gave me a ton of processed cheese to use up. if i do make this again, i will be using frozen hashbrowns rather than going through all the work of shredding potatoes and attempting to fry them..... mine turned out sticky and grey-ish. and please tell me no one is using canned peas, ugg... at least frozen ones won't disentigrate into oblivion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
The original recipe is fine as is, but I made it better. I used frozen shredded hashbrowns, sauted them with 1/2 diced onion. I seasoned the potatoes with black pepper and seasoning salt. Then I mixed in drained, rinsed black beans (instead of the peas) and frozen corn. No mashing required--it actually looked pretty good. You could also saute a bell pepper, I would think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
It was great. My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I used shredded sharp cheddar cheese instead of the process stuff. I also used Muir Glen Organic Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes with Green Chiles along with a dash of jalapeno sauce. I topped with sour cream and avocado. My husband said "A++" and he is a meat and potatoes guy. We will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I love potato enchiladas. I use red or sweet potato or banana squash in mine. Can also use zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Canned peas? Blechhh. I used black beans instead. Much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Pontificator

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
It tastes really good. Since reviewers noted some "bland" flavor, I added about 3-4 drops of tobasco hot sauce to the tomato and since other said it looks... blah (?), before eating it, I took off my glasses !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was okay, but a little too bland for me. I think kids would like it though, not too many strong flavors. I did not have any processed cheese, so used shredded cheese instead. If I make this again, I might add some spices and/or maybe make some kind of red sauce to go over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Took us a lot longer to make. Shredding the potatoes is a pain. If I had to do it again I would use frozen hashbrowns. Looks gross like everyone says, but it was delicious. I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Well, it certainly does look icky, but, it tasted good. I admit I was a skeptic. I added left over chicken that I had bar-b -qued the night before (1 cup) and loved it and will make it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States