Potato Dumplings with Bacon and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This recipe is outstanding! was so easy to prepare and so delicious! Since I was in a little hurry I kinds cheated and used thawed frozen hasbrowns instead and the constincency was great. cooked the bacon and onions just till tender and warmed in oven right before main course was done It was the hit of the meal, FYI pour the bacon grease over if you put in oven. Not low-cal Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
We loved this recipe. It was so simple to prepare so we'll be having them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I made these dumplings tonight for dinner with pork cutlets and peas and pearl onions. The dumplings were by far the star of the meal. I didn't think they were that hard to make, especially with a food processor. Once the potato and egg were mixed together it was really soupy. I was afraid I would need another potato, but I just kept adding flour until it was like bread dough and they came out great. I used four good sized pieces of bacon and buzzed those in the food processor to cut them into small pieces. It made the food processor very greasy, but it was a lot faster than cutting with scissors and the pieces were nice and small. It's definitely not low fat or low cal, but they taste great and are easy to make. I think you could come up with a good soup based off of these dumplings. Maybe a corn chowder with bacon dumplings, yum... I'll have to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
These are SO yummy and flavorful. Really not too difficult, just a little time consuming as mentioned. They're not exactly for someone on a low fat or "healthy" diet, but they're an excellent addition to any type of warm, home cooked meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
These were great. I chopped the bacon and onion in the food processor too. I fried cabbage with the bacon and onion and then added the dumplings. Just to experiment, I added shredded cheddar and wrapped little bits of the whole mixture in won ton wrappers and fried them. VERY time consuming but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holgate, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Bavaria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This is such a wonderful swist to reg. mash potatos! They were very easy to make. The prep time was not to bad. Will make them again. The family really loved as well! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
WOW! I have made potato dumplings from a packaged mix for years. Every recipe I've tried just never seemed to measure up. No more premixed potato dumplings for us! These were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
these were absolutely fantastic! after boiling these i just melted a tiny bit of butter on them for serving because our main dish was pretty heavy so i decided to skip the bacon and onion. served these w/ oven roasted brussel sprouts and pork medallions with dijon sauce from this site. cant wait to try them w/ the bacon and onion next time.i did try one w/ some sour cream and it was good but i liked it better w/ the dijon sauce from the pork tenderloin i made. thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
First of, I forgot to add the EGGS! LOL. Surprisingly, it still came out good. I will try it with the eggs next time. Anywho, The recipe was really good. My boyfriend loved it! I did a few things differently. I blended the potatoes with water and added about two teaspoons of Accent Seasoning since i heard people complaining about the blandness. WORKED. I added leeks to the salted boiling water of domplings. For the bacon sauce I also added leeks along with some butter, onions, and some doses of heavy whipping cream to make use of the flavor extracted from bacon. I didn't want the flavor to dry in the pot. I added a little accent seasoning aswell. I rolled the domplings around in the sauce and it came out with a wonderful flavor..not bland at all. Also a beautiful bacon browned covering.. Great recipe! My BF wants it for the rest of his life! LOL Thx again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States