Potato Dumplings with Bacon and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PAMINMI
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I'd like to address a few concerns from the reviews: This was a recipe passed to me from my mother-in-law and is one of those that doesn't list measured amounts, being made "from memory." The dumplings vary from batch to batch.I have remade them several times with measurements and have found that two large potatoes equal approximately 2 cups of 1" cubed peeled potatoes and you will need around 2 cups of white flour. You may want to put in 1/2 cup at a time. Depending on the moisture content of the potatoes and/or the size of the eggs, you made need more than 2 cups. The last time I made, 2 cups was enough. The most recent batch I needed 2 1/2 cups. I always make a few dumplings first in the pan of boiling water. If they start to fall apart within a few minutes of cooking, you need to add more flour. It is not unusual to see some small pieces break from the edges. Take a dumpling out to taste--should be a little chewy in the middle and softer on the outside. To address the "blandness" that has been described, I realized there was no salt in the dough. I have started putting about 1/2 teaspoon of salt in the dough. Also, you will get a lot of salt from the bacon. If you aren't cooking with bacon and onions, plan on gravy or sauerkraut on top, or just add some butter to melt on. I hope this helps anyone willing to try my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I made these dumplings tonight for dinner with pork cutlets and peas and pearl onions. The dumplings were by far the star of the meal. I didn't think they were that hard to make, especially with a food processor. Once the potato and egg were mixed together it was really soupy. I was afraid I would need another potato, but I just kept adding flour until it was like bread dough and they came out great. I used four good sized pieces of bacon and buzzed those in the food processor to cut them into small pieces. It made the food processor very greasy, but it was a lot faster than cutting with scissors and the pieces were nice and small. It's definitely not low fat or low cal, but they taste great and are easy to make. I think you could come up with a good soup based off of these dumplings. Maybe a corn chowder with bacon dumplings, yum... I'll have to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I made these for dinner with a roast beef and veggie. The dumplings were very bland - I will try again, but will add seasoning to the 'dough'. I can see why one reviewer said she added too much flour - it would be helpful if the ingredients listed an approx amount of flour to use. I started with a 1/4 cup and kept adding 1/4 cups until I had put 1 1/4 cups of flour in. I also had far too much onion - I used a Vidalia and it ssems that 1/2 a large Vidalia is a lot more than 1/2 of a yellow onion. My husband asked me if I could add something to the recipe - he too thought they were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
WOW! I have made potato dumplings from a packaged mix for years. Every recipe I've tried just never seemed to measure up. No more premixed potato dumplings for us! These were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
The dumplings were falling apart in the water until I added some baking powder to the batter (about 1 Tbs). They grow very much in size then, so if you add baking powder, make them very small. I found this recipe while trying to find a pierogi recipe. It was very good. I didn't chop the bacon but fried it in the skillet and crumbled it when done, no messy clean-up of the food processor. Since these are a relative of pierogis, you would probably do well by just sauteeing the onions and dumplings in butter. Boil the dumplings in a large kettle, not a pot. They need room to swim around in the boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
These were great. I chopped the bacon and onion in the food processor too. I fried cabbage with the bacon and onion and then added the dumplings. Just to experiment, I added shredded cheddar and wrapped little bits of the whole mixture in won ton wrappers and fried them. VERY time consuming but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holgate, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Bavaria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This method of making dumplings is so quick and easy! The dumplings themselves deserve 5 stars because of their versatility. I just didn't care too much for the bacon onion part because I a lot of the fat stayed on the bacon and the bacon did not get the crispy texture I prefer. It was easily fixed however by cooking the bacon in strips first; then removing from fat to cool; then frying onion in fat; after add the dumplings and crumble the bacon on top. This was delicious! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I just realized I messed this up! This was was NOT a success for me. Perhaps I added too much flour. The dumplings lacked flavor an turned out kind of chewy and lacking flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This is such a wonderful swist to reg. mash potatos! They were very easy to make. The prep time was not to bad. Will make them again. The family really loved as well! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
These are SO yummy and flavorful. Really not too difficult, just a little time consuming as mentioned. They're not exactly for someone on a low fat or "healthy" diet, but they're an excellent addition to any type of warm, home cooked meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States