Potato Dumplings with Bacon and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
The dumplings were falling apart in the water until I added some baking powder to the batter (about 1 Tbs). They grow very much in size then, so if you add baking powder, make them very small. I found this recipe while trying to find a pierogi recipe. It was very good. I didn't chop the bacon but fried it in the skillet and crumbled it when done, no messy clean-up of the food processor. Since these are a relative of pierogis, you would probably do well by just sauteeing the onions and dumplings in butter. Boil the dumplings in a large kettle, not a pot. They need room to swim around in the boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Some of the dumpling fell apart while boiling. The ones that came out okay were very bland. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Mcewen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
these were absolutely fantastic! after boiling these i just melted a tiny bit of butter on them for serving because our main dish was pretty heavy so i decided to skip the bacon and onion. served these w/ oven roasted brussel sprouts and pork medallions with dijon sauce from this site. cant wait to try them w/ the bacon and onion next time.i did try one w/ some sour cream and it was good but i liked it better w/ the dijon sauce from the pork tenderloin i made. thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I made these for dinner with a roast beef and veggie. The dumplings were very bland - I will try again, but will add seasoning to the 'dough'. I can see why one reviewer said she added too much flour - it would be helpful if the ingredients listed an approx amount of flour to use. I started with a 1/4 cup and kept adding 1/4 cups until I had put 1 1/4 cups of flour in. I also had far too much onion - I used a Vidalia and it ssems that 1/2 a large Vidalia is a lot more than 1/2 of a yellow onion. My husband asked me if I could add something to the recipe - he too thought they were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
These were yummy but best made with a meat dish with gravy or sauce. I made them plain and they were good but would have been better as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
WOW! I have made potato dumplings from a packaged mix for years. Every recipe I've tried just never seemed to measure up. No more premixed potato dumplings for us! These were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I just realized I messed this up! This was was NOT a success for me. Perhaps I added too much flour. The dumplings lacked flavor an turned out kind of chewy and lacking flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
We loved this recipe. It was so simple to prepare so we'll be having them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Belcher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This is such a wonderful swist to reg. mash potatos! They were very easy to make. The prep time was not to bad. Will make them again. The family really loved as well! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States