Potato Dumplings with Bacon and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
these were absolutely fantastic! after boiling these i just melted a tiny bit of butter on them for serving because our main dish was pretty heavy so i decided to skip the bacon and onion. served these w/ oven roasted brussel sprouts and pork medallions with dijon sauce from this site. cant wait to try them w/ the bacon and onion next time.i did try one w/ some sour cream and it was good but i liked it better w/ the dijon sauce from the pork tenderloin i made. thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I made these for dinner with a roast beef and veggie. The dumplings were very bland - I will try again, but will add seasoning to the 'dough'. I can see why one reviewer said she added too much flour - it would be helpful if the ingredients listed an approx amount of flour to use. I started with a 1/4 cup and kept adding 1/4 cups until I had put 1 1/4 cups of flour in. I also had far too much onion - I used a Vidalia and it ssems that 1/2 a large Vidalia is a lot more than 1/2 of a yellow onion. My husband asked me if I could add something to the recipe - he too thought they were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
These were yummy but best made with a meat dish with gravy or sauce. I made them plain and they were good but would have been better as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
WOW! I have made potato dumplings from a packaged mix for years. Every recipe I've tried just never seemed to measure up. No more premixed potato dumplings for us! These were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I just realized I messed this up! This was was NOT a success for me. Perhaps I added too much flour. The dumplings lacked flavor an turned out kind of chewy and lacking flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
We loved this recipe. It was so simple to prepare so we'll be having them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This is such a wonderful swist to reg. mash potatos! They were very easy to make. The prep time was not to bad. Will make them again. The family really loved as well! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
These were great. I chopped the bacon and onion in the food processor too. I fried cabbage with the bacon and onion and then added the dumplings. Just to experiment, I added shredded cheddar and wrapped little bits of the whole mixture in won ton wrappers and fried them. VERY time consuming but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holgate, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Bavaria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
These are SO yummy and flavorful. Really not too difficult, just a little time consuming as mentioned. They're not exactly for someone on a low fat or "healthy" diet, but they're an excellent addition to any type of warm, home cooked meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I made these dumplings tonight for dinner with pork cutlets and peas and pearl onions. The dumplings were by far the star of the meal. I didn't think they were that hard to make, especially with a food processor. Once the potato and egg were mixed together it was really soupy. I was afraid I would need another potato, but I just kept adding flour until it was like bread dough and they came out great. I used four good sized pieces of bacon and buzzed those in the food processor to cut them into small pieces. It made the food processor very greasy, but it was a lot faster than cutting with scissors and the pieces were nice and small. It's definitely not low fat or low cal, but they taste great and are easy to make. I think you could come up with a good soup based off of these dumplings. Maybe a corn chowder with bacon dumplings, yum... I'll have to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States