Potato Dumplings with Bacon and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
these were really tastey, but really hard to get the dough to the right consistency. like other reviews, i added salt. probably about a tablespoon and it could have used more. i used two really large potatoes (probably a lb a piece). honestly, i probably won't be making this again bc it was so time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I used turkey bacon which made it kind of bland. Decent recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This recipe is outstanding! was so easy to prepare and so delicious! Since I was in a little hurry I kinds cheated and used thawed frozen hasbrowns instead and the constincency was great. cooked the bacon and onions just till tender and warmed in oven right before main course was done It was the hit of the meal, FYI pour the bacon grease over if you put in oven. Not low-cal Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Way too much work! They kind of disintgrated when I cooked them with the bacon and onion. I didn't cook the whole recipe, with the left overs, I thinned it a bit with milk and made potato pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Mueller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Very basic recipe that can be built on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 440DartRacer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Montevallo, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMINMI
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I'd like to address a few concerns from the reviews: This was a recipe passed to me from my mother-in-law and is one of those that doesn't list measured amounts, being made "from memory." The dumplings vary from batch to batch.I have remade them several times with measurements and have found that two large potatoes equal approximately 2 cups of 1" cubed peeled potatoes and you will need around 2 cups of white flour. You may want to put in 1/2 cup at a time. Depending on the moisture content of the potatoes and/or the size of the eggs, you made need more than 2 cups. The last time I made, 2 cups was enough. The most recent batch I needed 2 1/2 cups. I always make a few dumplings first in the pan of boiling water. If they start to fall apart within a few minutes of cooking, you need to add more flour. It is not unusual to see some small pieces break from the edges. Take a dumpling out to taste--should be a little chewy in the middle and softer on the outside. To address the "blandness" that has been described, I realized there was no salt in the dough. I have started putting about 1/2 teaspoon of salt in the dough. Also, you will get a lot of salt from the bacon. If you aren't cooking with bacon and onions, plan on gravy or sauerkraut on top, or just add some butter to melt on. I hope this helps anyone willing to try my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This method of making dumplings is so quick and easy! The dumplings themselves deserve 5 stars because of their versatility. I just didn't care too much for the bacon onion part because I a lot of the fat stayed on the bacon and the bacon did not get the crispy texture I prefer. It was easily fixed however by cooking the bacon in strips first; then removing from fat to cool; then frying onion in fat; after add the dumplings and crumble the bacon on top. This was delicious! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
First of, I forgot to add the EGGS! LOL. Surprisingly, it still came out good. I will try it with the eggs next time. Anywho, The recipe was really good. My boyfriend loved it! I did a few things differently. I blended the potatoes with water and added about two teaspoons of Accent Seasoning since i heard people complaining about the blandness. WORKED. I added leeks to the salted boiling water of domplings. For the bacon sauce I also added leeks along with some butter, onions, and some doses of heavy whipping cream to make use of the flavor extracted from bacon. I didn't want the flavor to dry in the pot. I added a little accent seasoning aswell. I rolled the domplings around in the sauce and it came out with a wonderful flavor..not bland at all. Also a beautiful bacon browned covering.. Great recipe! My BF wants it for the rest of his life! LOL Thx again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
These dumplings came out okay. A "little time consuming" is a major understatement. The first batch just kept burning down and losing the browned outside, the second batch at a lower heat came out nice looking, but took a long time. Overall, the flavor was very, very bland. If I were to make these again, I would definitely add some herbs/seasonings to the potato 'dough' before cooking, but I doubt I'll make the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
The dumplings were falling apart in the water until I added some baking powder to the batter (about 1 Tbs). They grow very much in size then, so if you add baking powder, make them very small. I found this recipe while trying to find a pierogi recipe. It was very good. I didn't chop the bacon but fried it in the skillet and crumbled it when done, no messy clean-up of the food processor. Since these are a relative of pierogis, you would probably do well by just sauteeing the onions and dumplings in butter. Boil the dumplings in a large kettle, not a pot. They need room to swim around in the boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States