Potato Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This recipe turned out great. It was super easy and takes almost as good as Grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Our family loves these. Even my 3 year old daughter. I used Butter & herb mashed potatoes and it gives them such a great flavor. The regular instant mashed potatoes were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Excellent recipe. I use caramelized onions. Milk instead of water and no eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
My two year old granddaughter loves this recipe, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This was easy and awesome. My whole family loved them and this is the only ones I will make from now on!! A+ in my book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clarinda, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
The "Polish" store I usually buy homemade dumplings from quit selling them. I could not find anything comparable. So I turned to Allrecipes. Very good...quite a keeper! Now my family wants me to make these all the time...especially our 12 year old daughter who is a dumpling expert! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Loved these! Very easy to make and tasted wonderful. However, I like mine a little more dense and was wondering if anyone could suggest which to increase, the potatoes or the flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I loved the use of potato flakes! As a college student, this recipe was pretty cheap and helped me change up my menu options. Like a few others, I had a difficult time making the dumplings because the batter was so sticky. To help, I rubbed a little bit of olive oil into my hands as I rolled them, then tossed the dumpling into some flour and rolled them some more. I did this for every dumpling. (I doubled the recipe and ended up making around 30). This really helped and allowed the actual creation of the dumplings go faster. To give them a boost in flavor, after boiling them, I cooked them in a tomato paste with vinegar, salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, sliced peppers and cilantro. I let them simmer in the sauce and after about 10-15 min. the dumplings were beautifully seasoned and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I was looking for something that didn't require actual potatoes because I didn't have any. For the simplicity I didn't expect much, but these are excellent. I actually made them with only 1 egg (didn't read the recipe well) and they turned out just fine. Like other reviewers I had a problem kneading them. I used my dough hook and just kept adding flour but they were still sticky even after adding almost 3/4 C more flour. I pretty much took a spoon and dumped 6 blobs into chicken broth to cook. They weren't pretty, but they taste great. Next time I will make them smaller since I thought they were too big. I agree that on their own they are bland, but I've never eaten dumplings without buttter and salt or gravy of some sort. We will definately have these again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
These were pretty good...kind of chewy and like a pasta pancake. I only made them once...so I guess they weren't a HUGE hit at our house...but they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleend74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

All about Potatoes

Discover which potatoes are best for which preparations.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States