Potato Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
I had to make these dumplings for thirty people.They were super easy ,using the instant potatoes and tasted delicious.I boiled them drained them then sauteed them in garlic butter Outstanding!I served them with Braised Sweet and sour cabbage and grilled sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
The "Polish" store I usually buy homemade dumplings from quit selling them. I could not find anything comparable. So I turned to Allrecipes. Very good...quite a keeper! Now my family wants me to make these all the time...especially our 12 year old daughter who is a dumpling expert! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I've relied on Panni's Potato Dumpling mix for many years but, since it's becoming more and more difficult to find, I'd decided to try my hand at a homemade recipe. The basis for this particular recipe is rather sound, but I, too, found them very bland. I reduced the amount of liquid for the mixture ever so slightly and roll the dumplings in my hand (approx. 1.5" - 2" round each). I've found that adding approximately a tbs. (or so; I do it by sight) each of finely-diced fresh parsley, dill and scallions, as well as adding onion or chicken bullion cubes and another tbs. or so of finely-diced scallions to the water (1 cube per cup of water) does wonders! Tried it for the potato dumplings I'd made this past St. Nicholas Day (with a Sauerbraten recipe I'd found on allrecipes.com, which always comes out great), and the dumplings came out perfect! You can also keep the dumplings in the broth and serve as a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Sure beats having to peel all those potatoes. This recipe is quick, easy, and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
My two year old granddaughter loves this recipe, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This recipe turned out great. It was super easy and takes almost as good as Grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I was looking for something that didn't require actual potatoes because I didn't have any. For the simplicity I didn't expect much, but these are excellent. I actually made them with only 1 egg (didn't read the recipe well) and they turned out just fine. Like other reviewers I had a problem kneading them. I used my dough hook and just kept adding flour but they were still sticky even after adding almost 3/4 C more flour. I pretty much took a spoon and dumped 6 blobs into chicken broth to cook. They weren't pretty, but they taste great. Next time I will make them smaller since I thought they were too big. I agree that on their own they are bland, but I've never eaten dumplings without buttter and salt or gravy of some sort. We will definately have these again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
These dumplings were not fluffy at all but I like mine doughy too. It was very difficult to get them in "dumpling form" they were so sticky and impossible to knead. They didn't fall apart while boiling though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I loved the use of potato flakes! As a college student, this recipe was pretty cheap and helped me change up my menu options. Like a few others, I had a difficult time making the dumplings because the batter was so sticky. To help, I rubbed a little bit of olive oil into my hands as I rolled them, then tossed the dumpling into some flour and rolled them some more. I did this for every dumpling. (I doubled the recipe and ended up making around 30). This really helped and allowed the actual creation of the dumplings go faster. To give them a boost in flavor, after boiling them, I cooked them in a tomato paste with vinegar, salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, sliced peppers and cilantro. I let them simmer in the sauce and after about 10-15 min. the dumplings were beautifully seasoned and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Loved these! Very easy to make and tasted wonderful. However, I like mine a little more dense and was wondering if anyone could suggest which to increase, the potatoes or the flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States