Potato Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Delicious. I used baking potatoes because they seem to work well for homemade gnocchi too. And I think the crouton in the centre keeps the dumpling from being raw in the middle after cooking? Not sure but these are yummy with homemade chicken broth. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
These were perfect. Exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Sinai, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
First time I have ever made potato dumplings and they were excellent! Very easy to make. Just like the ones from the German resturant that I love. I served them with Beef Rouledan and it was a perfect pair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I made this to go with Wiener Schnitzel; I loved the crouton and chicken broth flavours, it worked out well. I wasn't sure how big to make them or how to form them (mine kind of turned into balls, and less like real dumplings?). There were a few people who weren't fans, but there were others who loved it. I guess it's not for everyone, but It was certainly a change :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
These came out wonderfully, even though I used less broth than I should have. I made them to go with the traditional sauerbraten recipe so didn't cook them in the same pot as the roast. I don't use self-rising flour as a rule, so you can use 1 cup of regular flour plus 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/4 tsp of salt to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I made this recipe to go along with a Goulasch recipe I recently acquired. I was trying to recrete this dish I had in a German restaurant that was Goulasch with potato dumplings. The recreation wasn't anything like the restaurants but my husband LOVED it and even my picky four year old pronounced it good. I didn't have any mashed potatoes so I baked four potatoes, scooped the insides out and put them in the refrigerator to chill for about 20 min. Instead of a crouton in the center I just fried a slice of white bread in butter and used a piece of it for the center of the dumpling. As far as I can tell this added nothing to the dumpling and unless it was added becuse the potato may otherwise be raw in the center...it was unneccessary. I hd to use about 1/2 cup more flour than in the recipe must because the dough was sooooo sticky...it took more flour to get the dough off of my hands, formed and dumped into the gulasch. I also used to eggs instead of one. I put my dumplings directly in the Goulasch I was making (essentially a beef stew) and cooked them for approx. 20 min. They turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
Just tried this recipe and loved the ease and speed of preparation. The self rising flour is very important. I didn't peel the potatoes which gave the dumplings a less smooth texture, which we like. For our german dinner party this week I'll add some spices. The meal was great. We'll fry the sliced leftover dumplings for breakfast. My mother used to add a cube of Salami, instead of the croutons. It was the surprise for us, since meat was scarce in those days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tahoe City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Great taste, but the dumplings fell apart (must have been my fault).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This is my staple dumpling recipe. The only thing I do different is instead of croutons I was always taught to take slices of bread soaked in milk that you tear up and throw into the mixture. My husband prefers that I season mixture with salt, pepper, and cayenne. You will never go wrong with these dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
My husband really enjoyed these. I made them with pot roast and cooked them right in the gravy!! G.H. Linden, N.J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States