Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by megnrn
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Excellent, You need Ghee, But I found this on how to make it How to make Ghee At Home Pure unsalted Butter (not margarine) 1. Heat butter in a saucepan in high-medium heat until it boils or bubbles. 2. Reduce heat to medium-low and cook uncovered until butter turns to a clear golden color. (Butter usually begins to boils with lots of bubbles. When it is done, it will have foams on top of it indicating that ghee is nearly done.) 3. Cool it and store it in dry container. Use ghee in you regular cooking. I added I can of rinsed chickpeas/garbanzo beans and served it with whole wheat naan, this is how a local indian restaurant we go to has served it. Also its took me no more the 30 minutes from start to finish with clean up. Be careful the yellow colored sauce tends to stain things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Great base curry, but it needs a bit of tweaking to make it perfect. Double all spices, add one chopped onion to saute pan, add one bunch chopped cilantro at the end, use either greek yogurt or coconut milk in place of regular yogurt, add a lot more peas (use petite ones for sweetest flavor), and most important: fry the cubed potatoes on high in a bit of oil BEFORE adding them to the pan (don't let them cook all the way through), and they will keep that crispy outside but creamy, flavorful inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANOLAGIRLTOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakemont, New York, USA
Living In: Little Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Dead on for the cooking time. Ended up mild (but that was no surprise, since that’s what it is supposed to be!) so it wasn’t my favorite, next time I will probably add more peas and double the spices- and probably add some either ground or rough cut onions when the potatoes go in. Overall really nice texture. I would serve this with Naan and not Rice, however, the potatoes and rice made too much of a similar texture and I didn’t like it at all. Also be aware that it will thicken a bit as it sets out- so make it a little thinner than you would like- just add more water as you need. Really simple base recipe you could take a lot of places! I think this is especially a good recipe if you are trying to get someone into the world of curries. A good ‘beginner’ dish, if you will, because of the mildness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Yum Yum Yum. I like my food spicy, so I doubled all of the spices and also added garlic and onion. My whole family enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Great recipe. Instead of yogurt, I used 1 cup of coconut milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Wonderful! I added about 2 full cups of peas to the recipe because I love peas. I like to avoid butter of any kind so instead of ghee, I used 1 tbs of butter and 1-2 tbs of olive oil. The flavor was not lacking and I will continue to make it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
After reading all the reviews, this is what I did - I used ghee, probably doubled all the spices - I did big heaping tsps and then tasted as it was cooking and added more along with garlic powder (fresh garlic would've been better, but I was lazy) - I did the water and a cup of coconut milk and also added a can of garbonzo beans and instead of peas I used chopped baby spinach. It's really good!! Spicy and comforting - way better than my generic curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I omitted the yogurt completely and this dish was delicious. I doubled the spices and the potatoes had a nice bite to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
i used a full tsp of cayanne and thought it spiced it up really well. i added chopped onion, 1 clove garlic, Fat Free yougart and a little leftover califlower i had in the fridge. next time (there will be many next times) i will cut the onion thicker, use more garlic and a lot more califlower. tasted very authentic indian. 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Casselberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Wwhen I told my husband that the recipie was unrated he said, "Give it 5 stars." He likes things spicy and I like things bland. This recipie was flavorful enough for him with not too much of a bite for me. I did have trouble making the ghee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States