Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this curry for myself, my boyfriend and a friend and we all really liked it. I like how inexpensive and easy (though a bit time consuming) it is to make. The changes I made were to double all the spices (actually quadrupled the cayenne and it still didn't seem spicy, I think I might have mislabeled paprika!), add more salt, use olive oil and I also had to add about a cup and a half more water because so much cooked off. This is a great curry and I look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I omitted the yogurt completely and this dish was delicious. I doubled the spices and the potatoes had a nice bite to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I doubled the spices and added 2 cups of peas, as well as an onion and a clove of garlic. The flavor was terrific, but my husband and I both thought the yogurt overwhelmed the dish. We like things spicy, and I think the yogurt diluted the spices a bit, and made everything a little too creamy/tangy for our taste. But still, a beautiful recipe, that I'll be making variations of for a long time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Way too spicy--I'd cut the cayenne in half. Very time-consuming, too. It's okay with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Used 1 T. & 2 tsp. butter & 2 tsp. olive oil instead of ghee (for approximately 2 servings). Added a smidge more of the dry ingredients than called for. First used mustard ground but then discovered I actually did have the seeds. Added a small amount of dried minced garlic about ¼ tsp. Could maybe cut down on the amount of water added next time, seemed to be just a tad too watery at the end. Made with Jerra fried rice (from this site) & Murg Makhani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
We weren't big fans of this. Didn't like the texture or the flavor very much. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Wonderful! I added about 2 full cups of peas to the recipe because I love peas. I like to avoid butter of any kind so instead of ghee, I used 1 tbs of butter and 1-2 tbs of olive oil. The flavor was not lacking and I will continue to make it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
AWESOME. That's it. It has been in heavy rotation in our house for years (since 2006! Am editing this in 2012), I make it with 3 potatoes and a can of chickpeas. My 8 month old daughter LOVES this curry. I mash it and water it down a little, and add a bit of organic rice cereal for her :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeffNie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This recipe was amazing. I brought it with me to a friends "summerfest" and it was a huge hit. Her mother is from Britain and she said that she couldn't believe how similar it was to what she would have had back home. Talk about a compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Great recipe... I added mixed veggies like someone else had mentioned and served over brown rice. Next time I think i'll omit the cayenne pepper b/c it over powered the curry flavor. I'll probably add onion and cardamom next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States