Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
If you use fresh spices, this will be more than enough spicy! After reading the other reviews here's what I did: I used 3 instead of 6 potatoes, but still used the same amount of ghee and spices. I used just a little extra cayenne and so so so so flavorful and spicy it was!!!! I also used half of the yogurt called for and was not lacking for sauce and had not issue with overpowering yogurt flavor. Would have been great with naan if I had any, instead I made falafels, which I know is greek, but it was very tasty together. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Pretty Good! kids were wining and moaning we don't like this we don't want you to make it.... blah blah blah! They loved it and all had seconds one of them even had thirds. I have three kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was seriously good. I did as some other reviewers suggested, and added an onion & two minced cloves of garlic. I also substituted butter for the ghee, and used fresh cracked pepper instead of coriander. Oh, and I also doubled the spices- it was slightly too spicey for me, so next time I will try it with the spices as-is. The sauce was a little thinner than expected, but it still had great flavor, and thickened up the next day for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I used butter instead of ghee, and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I doubled the spices in this recipe and, thanks to my favorite Indian restaurant, still thought it came out bland. If you are accustomed to rich flavors that you will get at the restaurant, then definitely triple or quadruple the amount of spices added in. Also, it tasted better the day after making it rather than the night of. I will be making it again just because it was simple, filling, and the idea is right, but my tastes require stronger spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
i thought this recipe was awful , it was bland and tasteless, i put double the seasoning & spices in but still had little taste. will not be wasting my time on this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Great recipe. Instead of yogurt, I used 1 cup of coconut milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megnrn
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Excellent, You need Ghee, But I found this on how to make it How to make Ghee At Home Pure unsalted Butter (not margarine) 1. Heat butter in a saucepan in high-medium heat until it boils or bubbles. 2. Reduce heat to medium-low and cook uncovered until butter turns to a clear golden color. (Butter usually begins to boils with lots of bubbles. When it is done, it will have foams on top of it indicating that ghee is nearly done.) 3. Cool it and store it in dry container. Use ghee in you regular cooking. I added I can of rinsed chickpeas/garbanzo beans and served it with whole wheat naan, this is how a local indian restaurant we go to has served it. Also its took me no more the 30 minutes from start to finish with clean up. Be careful the yellow colored sauce tends to stain things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was very mild and even with curry powder added it was still too plain. If you want something that's a little indian but not a lot, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this curry for myself, my boyfriend and a friend and we all really liked it. I like how inexpensive and easy (though a bit time consuming) it is to make. The changes I made were to double all the spices (actually quadrupled the cayenne and it still didn't seem spicy, I think I might have mislabeled paprika!), add more salt, use olive oil and I also had to add about a cup and a half more water because so much cooked off. This is a great curry and I look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States