Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Absolutely delicious and a very flexible recipe. I'm not a vegetarian so we had this as an accompanying vegetable dish to go with some fat homemade sausages. Really delicious. Empty plates all round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
It is very delicious! My husband loves this dish now. I do not put in the peas (I'm not a pea fan) but I threw in some frozen spinach and it was just as delicious! I found it to me a little too mild, so I kicked up the spices by double and added a little fennel seed into the recipe. It turned out superb! We had this with basmati rice and garlic nan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NedNoD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Good Curry flavor. I did double the spices as others recommended. We both enjoyed this recipe and will make it again! Im giving 5 stars for the base recipe as I know everyones tastes are different and me doubling up on the spices is my choice as I like things a bit spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceana, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very delicious, *mild* curry. Perfect base recipe - easy to spice it up a little or a lot. I do agree with previous reviewers that have found the sauce a little thin - next time I'll use less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Wow! This tasted just like the fare from an Indian Restaurant, with a few changes. I subbed black pepper for cayenne as it's all I had on hand, added the written amount of turmeric, but doubled all of the other spices and salt. I also added a grated onion and 2 cloves of garlic while the potatoes were cooking. The cooking times were spot-on, and this is best over basmati rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was very tasty when hot. The leftovers made a great potato salad! The spiciness of this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I think this is a good recipe with great potential but mine turned out a bit bland so I would make the following changes. I definitely recommend doubling the spices. I also used one 14oz can coconut milk instead of yogurt which I really liked, but next time will use half of the can instead of a whole one (i felt it kind of diluted the spices). I think everything is better with onion and garlic so I also sauteed 1/2 onion and 2 cloves minced garlic in the ghee, then continued with the recipe. I'll definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Rouge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Excellent, did not have ghee so I used margarine.I know it would've been better w/ghee. I did not have cumin seeds so I just used powder. I did not have cayenne pepper so I just used chili powder. I needed to use up some milk so I used half 2% milk & half water. I only had vanilla yogurt on hand & it turned out wonderful. Instead of frozen peas I used frozen mixed vegetables & I increased the amount to 1 & 1/2 cups at least. I must not of cut my potatoes small enough though b/c I did have to cook them longer. I thought about adding more seasonings but there are different types of curry & decided to try this one just as it was. I would definatly make again, maybe next time w/more spices. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debrac1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I loved this, even though the consistency was a little thin, I will add less water next time. I used red potatoes because i think waxy potatoes hold up with rice (basmati) and starchy ones turn too mushy. I also added one clove of garlic, half an onion and a small zucchini. This was my first time making curry but I was impressed, it came out better than what I have had at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keflavík, Suðurnes, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was good and very easy to make. I doubled the spices and subbed coconut oil for ghee. I cooked it a bit differently: I covered the pan while sauteing the potatoes in the first step, then I used only a cup of water and covered the pan to simmer; they were ready in 20 min. I used a can of coconut milk instead of yogurt, and the consistency was just right. If I make this again, I'll add cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States