Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Absolutely delicious and a very flexible recipe. I'm not a vegetarian so we had this as an accompanying vegetable dish to go with some fat homemade sausages. Really delicious. Empty plates all round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
It is very delicious! My husband loves this dish now. I do not put in the peas (I'm not a pea fan) but I threw in some frozen spinach and it was just as delicious! I found it to me a little too mild, so I kicked up the spices by double and added a little fennel seed into the recipe. It turned out superb! We had this with basmati rice and garlic nan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NedNoD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Good Curry flavor. I did double the spices as others recommended. We both enjoyed this recipe and will make it again! Im giving 5 stars for the base recipe as I know everyones tastes are different and me doubling up on the spices is my choice as I like things a bit spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceana, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very delicious, *mild* curry. Perfect base recipe - easy to spice it up a little or a lot. I do agree with previous reviewers that have found the sauce a little thin - next time I'll use less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Wow! This tasted just like the fare from an Indian Restaurant, with a few changes. I subbed black pepper for cayenne as it's all I had on hand, added the written amount of turmeric, but doubled all of the other spices and salt. I also added a grated onion and 2 cloves of garlic while the potatoes were cooking. The cooking times were spot-on, and this is best over basmati rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was very tasty when hot. The leftovers made a great potato salad! The spiciness of this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I think this is a good recipe with great potential but mine turned out a bit bland so I would make the following changes. I definitely recommend doubling the spices. I also used one 14oz can coconut milk instead of yogurt which I really liked, but next time will use half of the can instead of a whole one (i felt it kind of diluted the spices). I think everything is better with onion and garlic so I also sauteed 1/2 onion and 2 cloves minced garlic in the ghee, then continued with the recipe. I'll definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Rouge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Excellent, did not have ghee so I used margarine.I know it would've been better w/ghee. I did not have cumin seeds so I just used powder. I did not have cayenne pepper so I just used chili powder. I needed to use up some milk so I used half 2% milk & half water. I only had vanilla yogurt on hand & it turned out wonderful. Instead of frozen peas I used frozen mixed vegetables & I increased the amount to 1 & 1/2 cups at least. I must not of cut my potatoes small enough though b/c I did have to cook them longer. I thought about adding more seasonings but there are different types of curry & decided to try this one just as it was. I would definatly make again, maybe next time w/more spices. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debrac1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I loved this, even though the consistency was a little thin, I will add less water next time. I used red potatoes because i think waxy potatoes hold up with rice (basmati) and starchy ones turn too mushy. I also added one clove of garlic, half an onion and a small zucchini. This was my first time making curry but I was impressed, it came out better than what I have had at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keflavík, Suðurnes, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was good and very easy to make. I doubled the spices and subbed coconut oil for ghee. I cooked it a bit differently: I covered the pan while sauteing the potatoes in the first step, then I used only a cup of water and covered the pan to simmer; they were ready in 20 min. I used a can of coconut milk instead of yogurt, and the consistency was just right. If I make this again, I'll add cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States