Potato Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2001
Good alternative to mashed potatoes, easy to adapt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I Loved this recipe... If you are making these and they fall apart in the pan, you are using too much oil. Also when you make the mash potatoes do not add too much butter and milk. If the mashed potatoes are too soft they will fall apart and the most important is do not forget the eggs. I will continue to make these. They were very easy and my family loved them. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Very good!! Used left over mashed potatoes, cheddar cheese, diced onion, and fried my own bacon. Then used panko crumbs, as was suggested in another review. Served them with ranch dressing. Great way to make something super yummy with leftovers. Both my husband and I loved them. We even made extra and froze them. Can't wait to fry those up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chaneenie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
Great recipe! I used instant pototoes and they turned out fine. I made the potatoes a little thicker than normal. A few fell apart a little in the oil but not too bad. I also substituted finely shredded chedder for the romano in half and parmeson in the other. The ones with chedder went over the best. I will definetly make these again. Next time I will try using fresh potatoes instead of instant. Edit 1/1/6. I've made these many more times since posting this review. My family loves them. Whenever we make mashed potatoes we make extra so we will have extra for croquettes. Since the first time we have always used real mashed potatoes and they turn out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Absolutely the best potato cakes I have ever made. My family loved them. I added fried bacon instead of bacon bits and mixed cheese. The bread crumbs made all the difference. I usually have issues with my potato cakes falling apart when I made them in the past. I also made about a 2" ball with the potatoes and rolled it in the bread crumbs and flattened them slightly. The size seemed to also make a difference. I added a bit of flour to the potatoes to make them stiffer and easier to work with. They were a huge hit with both ketchup and ranch dressing. Will make them everytime we have leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARK89

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Mmmm so yummy! I halfed the recipe to use up leftover mashed potatoes... I think the secret here is to use COLD leftover potatoes. I had no problem with them falling apart. I added some bread crumbs to stiffen the mixture before frying and that helped hold them together as well... Also added green onion and sprinkled with parmesan (no Ramano) dipped in sour cream. Hubby ate his with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Delicious! I have finally found a potato pancake recipe that we really enjoyed! I had to use some potato flakes to thicken the mixture up some - they would not form into patties otherwise. Don't forget to add a little more Romano cheese to compensate. I did not have any bacon bits so I used real bacon. Served with sour cream. FABULOUS! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
So glad I found a way to use leftover mashed potatoes. I had no romano or bacon bits, so I added shredded mexican blend cheese and parsley. I used a lot less oil than the recipe calls for (personal preference) and the croquettes still came out delicious. Thanks for a great recipe that's also very versitile to ingredient changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Realy nice way to use up left over mashed potatos...still gotta a lot of them left though... boys just don eat like they used to lol. awsum with sourcream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
These were awesome - but I did make a few changes as well. I left out the cheese as I am allergic, skipped the bacon, and added some Nature's Blend seasoning mix. The other change I made was quite by accident but worked out great - I added the breadcrumbs to the mix instead of rolling on the outside. This actually helped keep them together while frying. My husband and I fought over the last few bites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States