Potato Chowder Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is a great chowder for a cold fall/winter night! To make it quicker I got the frozen angle cut carrots, red potatoes (frozen then quartered), precut red onions (frozen), replaced one can regular corn with one can sween creamed corn, 2 cloves garlic, and replaced the water to cover the veggies with chicken broth, 2 bay leaves, replaced 1 C of milk with 1 C 1/2 & 1/2 (I used fat free milk and fat free 1/2 and 1/2), 1 teaspoon worchester sauce, 1/8 tsp red pepper powder, 1/4 tsp white pepper. The red potatoes and red onions add beautiful color. The oriinal ingredients while good, where a bit blan. This was a huge success and everyone wanted the recipe and got seconds. I also put a side of crispy bacon bits to sprinkle on the top after spooned into the bowls! PERFECTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Yummy Soup! My kids gobbled it up and asked for seconds. Before adding the butter/milk mixture I put half of the cooked veggies in the blender. This made the soup extra creamy. Next time I will use chicken stock instead of water for a little fuller flavour. Easy recipe - I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
My family loved it. I did cook the potatos in my homemade chicken broth...and added a drop of worchester sauce... yumm daniel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
Wonderful creamy soup. Making it with low fat cheese and low fat milk reduce the fat and still keep the flavor. Would probably be good with diced cooked chicken or pork as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I just finished preparing this soup. bland, bland ugh. Added salt, pepper, italian spices, basil nothing seems to help. Won't be making this again. Hello again...looked up another potato chowder soup and reviewers recommended rosemary. I ground the rosemary finely and added it to the soup. Yummo!! That did it..I'll be making this again and again. DH had two bowls..he loved it. He's a big soup eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I could not believe the wonderful flavor this soup had! I didn't add the corn or the celery because I didn't have any but this soup was so good! Put the carrots in the water so that they can get a head start on cooking. Carrots cook quicker than potatoes and the potatoes will be too soft in the soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This soup got great reviews from everyone that was fortunate enough to get a spoonful! I used all chicken stock to cook the potatoes, it really did make amazing flavor. I also used much more potatoes and veggies, as I was really trying to maximize the recipe. Instead of 2 cans of corn, I took a previous reviewers advise and used one can of creamed corn and one regular (Del Monte Summer Crisp). I also used 1C 2% milk and 1C half and half in order to add to the creaminess of the chowder. I think the most important step was that I removed about 1/3 of the potatoes after they were cooked, as well as a handful of other veggies, blended them with an immersion blender, and added them back into the soup. It made a super amazing texture. I will be making this again, and am already taking requests from my family and coworkers for another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
this recipe was very good. I cooked up some bacon and threw that in. it gave it a good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very thick and cheesey soup. I took the advice of the others and used chicken broth (instead of water). Very easy, quick, and tastey recipe. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Superb! All I did was throw in a couple chicken bouillon cubes while the veggies were cooking. This soup had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States