Potato Chowder Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
No flavor. I fixed it up with chicken granules, bay leaf, celery salt, worstershire. Better. More of a soup than a chowder (watery). But a good basic start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was very good and hardy. It was a little bland but I think it would have been more bland if I had not made some changes. I cooked my veggies in 30 oz of chicken broth + about 1 cup of water and a chicken boullion cube. I added about 1/4-1/2 tsp of garlic powder and I added black pepper. Instead of cooking the butter, milk and flour separately, I added the butter to the veggies and in a separate bowl, I whisked the milk and flour and then added that to the pot. It came out really good and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was a little bland, so we added some habanero pepper sauce to induvidual servings and that brightened up the flavor. I still prefer a corn and potato chowder without cheese, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I give this recipe 3 stars because I change a lot, but it is a good basic recipe. I sauteed my potatos and onions first with oregano, pepper, garlic and fresh garlic. I cooked the chowder in my slow cooker. I added water with a chicken bullion cube. Addedd the potatos, then cooked some frozen vege mix with some maragine and salt on the stove and added to the soup. I let it cook a few hours and then cooked fresh mushrooms on the stove and then added. did the flour, margarine and milk mix the same and just added some pepper. came out really good! i'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Very good. My husband loved this. I made sure to save the leftovers for him. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This is the greatest chowder soup I've ever tasted.You can really taste the flavors.I give it 2 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
this recipe was very good. I cooked up some bacon and threw that in. it gave it a good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very thick and cheesey soup. I took the advice of the others and used chicken broth (instead of water). Very easy, quick, and tastey recipe. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made this for a potluck, everyone commented how delicious it was. Anyone can make this...your friends and family will think you are a gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
wonderful i only left out onions, celery,carrotts because i dislike them everything was wonderful very good thanks for sharing i will make plenty more of this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States