Potato Chowder Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was the first chowder I ever made and it was so easy and delicious! The only change I made was using chicken broth instead of water to cook the vegetables. Rich, creamy, savory - perfect on cold winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Very Yummy! I'm so stuffed from it right now! For more flavor, I cooked the veggies in fat-free low-sodium chicken broth, added some onion/herb seasoning blend and ground white pepper. I didn't use the full 2.5 Cups of cheese because it seemed like too much to me, but I bet it would've been fine, since I didn't drain the broth from the veggies. Regardless, 4 out of the 6 of us LOVED it. The youngest (4 & 5 yrs) were OK with it and they are REALLY hard to please. Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
YUMMY!! I made this for company & got rave reviews! Can't wait to make it again. I tripled it, so instead of using 6 c. milk, I used 2 c. half-and-half & 4 c. milk. I have a friend who uses evaporated milk so I'll probably try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Great soup! I used half and half, cream corn, and pureed some as other users did. Also Lawry's seasoned pepper really made the difference. It's my boyfriend's seasoning for everything he eats! Not really spicy, but brings the flavor way up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Delicious! This was my first time making a potato chowder and I'm so happy with how it turned out. Like others suggested, I almost double the veggies, used one can of creamed corn, and put half of the vegetable mixture in the blender to thicken up the soup. So great with french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I love this! Thank you for sharing. I 1st made this over a year ago and have made it many times! It is so good. I have also made it with out the cheese when we were out of it and it stills turns out awesome! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saracuse
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Easy, fast and tasty. Going in my "keeper" book. I used homemade chicken broth instead of water. I also used 2 cans creamed corn, 1 can whole kernel corn and added black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cornelius, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
The only change I made was a slight increase in onions but other than that, left the recipe as is. THIS SOUP IS VERY BLAND! I added some spices to my own portion but couldnt fix it much. I cant even see how chicken stock could make it better. I would definitely try a different recipe. Rated 2 stars instead of 1 because the potatoes were cooked the way I like them (very soft) and they were slightly flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I've made this twice now; both times I used chicken stock instead of water, and the second time I added chopped heat-and-eat Italian sausage. It's very good without the sausage, but my fiance and I like it even better with the sausage! This is definately a new comfort food, and comparably healthy when you use 1% milk and Promise margarine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
My son eats bowl after bowl of this soup. Every time I have made I am out of Celery but even without it's still good. I also double the cream part to make the soup extra creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States