Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Had to try it when I stumbled upon this recipe. Everyone else said 3-5 minutes in the microwave, or up to 10-12 minutes, but mine were getting browned and crisp in just 2-2.5 minutes. Might be the oil I used, or a powerful microwave, or the potatoes I used, I don't know. I used a red potato. I sprayed Pam on parchment paper cut to cover the glass microwave turntable, and I dipped freshly cut potato slices in a plate of peanut oil. They turn brown at slightly different times, so I'd remove the browning chips and cook the rest 15-30 seconds longer until they started browning. I don't own a mandoline, so I tried a peeler first, but I thought those chips were too thin, so then I used a sharp knife to cut slices about quarter-thick. Added sea salt at the end, but it didn't stick well once the chips were cooling, so next time I'll likely add salt/seasoning to the tops of the chips before cooking. They had a delicious fresh potato flavor. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
The potato chips themselves tasted great, but the only issue I had was when I took them out of the microwave, they were stuck on to the plate. They were stuck solid. I had to scrape them off with a knife! And if you are wondering, I did oil the chips AND the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Good stuff, but way too much work. I cooked in a small 800 watt microwave on high and they still took 11 minutes a batch. I'll stick with my $1 bag of chips when I get the craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This is a good one, i tried it and the best thing is that amount of oil and salt that needed can be adjusted to your need. there was a problem my microwave was a bit weak so i have to cook it for 16 minutes instead of 5 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
All the recipes are amazing !!! Great job!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Takes a lot of tinkering with the timing. While the results are satisfactory, you must either really want to wait for your snack or like the method of cooking because it isn't fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Thank you for posting this, I can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
When I made these I wasn't sure these we're going to be this good, my dad just wanted more and more I am defiantly keeping this recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Loved it! Used a mandolin which made slicing fast and easy. Had 2 large plates that I put in microwave for about 4 minutes each, rotating plates as one batch was ready. Cooked enough for 4 people in 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
My fiancé and I were a bit skeptical, but tried this recipe anyway. On our first batch, we had the mandolin set on the thinest setting and they came out tasting like store bought potato chips...we couldn't believe it! Second batch used setting three and they came out good, but just a bit burnt tasting, because they had to cook longer to get brown. Used the second setting on the mandolin and I guess third time was the charm, absolutely perfect. You have to keep an eye on them as they are cooking, the times very depending on how long they sit in the oil before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Homestyle Potato Chips

See how to make crispy homemade potato chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States