Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
My best batch was at about 5 and half minutes. But remember each microwave will be different. the last batch was garlic and crumbled rosemary! VERY addicting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
The danger with these guilt - free chips is that it's almost impossible to resist the cooling chipd while the rest are being cooked. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Windy
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I always make a mess using the oil in a plastic bag to toss the sliced potatoes, so I tried non-stick cooking spray and they turned out perfectly and my best batches ever! I use the cheese slicer in the side of my cheese grater (mine is on the back, but they are also on the side- use the part that simply slices the cheese or use a mandolin veggie slicer using the attachment that gives the THINNEST slices). Using THIN slices is paramount to the success of this recipe. If you prefer thick cut chips, then I don't think this is the recipe or cooking method for you. Mine have always turned out extremely unevenly cooked, soggy, and many were still raw in the middle. The ultra thin chips cook evenly and thoroughly every time. On my most recent batch, I sprayed my plate with non-stick spray, as usual. However, without the oil in the bag step, I simply laid them on the plate and sprayed the top side of the potato slices with the non-stick spray as well. I sprinkled with a light coating of salt (it is super easy to over-salt these guys, so err on the light side starting out) and microwave on high (1100 watt oven) for 3 minutes. Pull the plate out with a towel or pads (careful- the plate is scalding hot) and flip them over. I don't mind them sticking together- they are easier to turn! Cool and additional 2-3 minutes until they just start to brown. Watch them carefully the last minute- they burn easily and you just want a golden brown color for optimum crunch. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Mixed some honey mustard in the mix bag. Took a bit longer but it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by almostebony
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
These are really really good. I was an surprised. I made mine a little thicker due to cutting them with a knife and used parchment paper and spray and they came out fantastic. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
3 mins was perfect nice and crisp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Shultz
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Had to try it when I stumbled upon this recipe. Everyone else said 3-5 minutes in the microwave, or up to 10-12 minutes, but mine were getting browned and crisp in just 2-2.5 minutes. Might be the oil I used, or a powerful microwave, or the potatoes I used, I don't know. I used a red potato. I sprayed Pam on parchment paper cut to cover the glass microwave turntable, and I dipped freshly cut potato slices in a plate of peanut oil. They turn brown at slightly different times, so I'd remove the browning chips and cook the rest 15-30 seconds longer until they started browning. I don't own a mandoline, so I tried a peeler first, but I thought those chips were too thin, so then I used a sharp knife to cut slices about quarter-thick. Added sea salt at the end, but it didn't stick well once the chips were cooling, so next time I'll likely add salt/seasoning to the tops of the chips before cooking. They had a delicious fresh potato flavor. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
The potato chips themselves tasted great, but the only issue I had was when I took them out of the microwave, they were stuck on to the plate. They were stuck solid. I had to scrape them off with a knife! And if you are wondering, I did oil the chips AND the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Good stuff, but way too much work. I cooked in a small 800 watt microwave on high and they still took 11 minutes a batch. I'll stick with my $1 bag of chips when I get the craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This is a good one, i tried it and the best thing is that amount of oil and salt that needed can be adjusted to your need. there was a problem my microwave was a bit weak so i have to cook it for 16 minutes instead of 5 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Homestyle Potato Chips

See how to make crispy homemade potato chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States