Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
These are fantastic chips! My mandoline sliced a little thicker than most on the thin setting, but I loved the thick homestyle chips that it made. Mine took longer in the microwave, which is very high powered. It may have been because I used huge Idaho baking potatoes. They still turned out great! I realized toward the end of my batches that if I put less chips on my glass platter they took way shorter. Next time I'll try that as I think it would balance out the timeframe. You'll either have 12-13 minutes for big batches or 6-8 minutes for smaller batches. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfect. I sprinkled garlic salt on mine and look forward to trying different spices in future batches. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
5 ½ - 6 minutes in my microwave. Sprayed with olive oil cooking spray, then sprinkled with coarse sea salt prior to cooking…So good!!! All the taste & crunch without any of the fat of "regular" potato chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I'd say about 3-4 stars. 4 stars for once finally done. But, they took a lot longer than the time stated and at first were not getting the least bit crispy :( But, after playing with the recipe I added little more oil to the bag and added about 2-3 more minutes cooking time (around 7-8 mins total). They finally started coming out and ended up being pretty good. I think I'll try this recipe again but prepare for it to take a lot longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Delicious ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I never thought vegetable oil and a microwave could make such yummy potato chips! However, instead of using regular potatoes, I used a sweet potato, and everyone was very impressed that they were homemade. This recipe could be a little more specific on how many potatoes to cook at a time, but other than that, I really do enjoy this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beginningcooker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Tried this today and we loved it! I thought I would have to invest in a mandolin but it was so easy to use a potato peeler and peel it lengthwise. We took the advice of another reviewer and used cooking spray on both sides. It took 3 1/2 minutes. Easy-peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I can't believe how easy it was to make these chips. On top if that, they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The chips didn't brown and they stuck to the plate, plus got oil all over the microwave-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
For those who had problems with potatoes sticking to the plate; use parchment paper. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Flawless. The thinner sliced the better but even the thick ones, while not as crunchy, are delicious. I did try this once with yellow potatoes and they did not crisp up - the russet/brown potatoes have always turned out for me. I usually slice my potato, put in a small plastic bag with a drizzle of olive oil, then mix and arrange in the microwave. Super fast "cleanup" that way. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Homestyle Potato Chips

See how to make crispy homemade potato chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States