Potato Chip Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I see no marinating to the butter as it just goes solid when cold. Next time I will try flavored chips. The chicken was juciy and crunchy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I use the Lays Barbeque chips, the one in the black bag. I do not marinate, just dip my chicken in the melted butter, roll in the crushed chips and then put the chicken, all the remaining chips and butter in the dish. Serve with white rice. It is very delicious and a favorite of my family. Add some chips to the white rice after serving. VERY GOOD!!! I've tried other flavored chips, but the barbeque and it has to be the black bag of Lays barbeque chips is by far my families favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I pounded my chicken to about 1/2” for even cooking. Like many others, I skipped the “marinating” step in this recipe, because I didn’t see the need. I baked this for less time than the recipes indicates. Mine were done in about 25-30 minutes. This is a great way to use up the crumbs left in the bottom of the potato chip bag. I made Chef John’s Spicy Honey Mustard Sauce to serve along with this. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
My husband is a fan of this and since it's so easy to make I am too. We have used bbq and sour cream and onion chips, both have worked fine but we prefer the flavour of the sco chips. I didn't marinate in the butter just ran the chicken through it and baked straight away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmyb
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I have been making this for almost 20 years, but I use boneless skinless chicken breasts that I dip in butter (I do not marinate) and crushed regular potato chips that I also add pepper, garlic powder and onion powder to. The leftover butter I pour over and bake for 45 minutes uncovered at 350. It is delicious, moist, and sometimes I make country gravy and pour over it and serve with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris from the Illinois Valley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I've been making Potato Chip Chicken for my family for years! But for extra flavor and moistness, instead of coating the chicken with melted butter, I rub the chicken with Miracle Whip before coating in the potato chip crumbs. Tip for making potato chip crumbs: Leave the potato chips in the original bag they come in, just snip a very small portion off of one corner at the top to release the air before rolling. The original bag holds up much better during rolling, and the chips cannot escape from it! Also, for an EXTRA-SPECIAL dish that my family loves on special occasions, I drizzle a tiny amount of honey over the chicken just before serving. The salty/sweet combination is Really Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I have been making this for years. It is my husbands favorite dish. While I do not marinate my chicken overnight, I do let it sit in the melted butter for a few minutes before coating it with the chips. I always use sour cream and onion chips and drizzle the leftover melted butter over the chicken right before putting it in the oven. I never use any additional seasonings as the flavor of the sour cream and onion chips is enough for us. I comes out nice and crispy with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe! I used peppercorn ranch (old dutch) potato chips - takes more than one cup though. They were so moist on the inside and crispy on the oustside. I did not bother to marinate and I added garlic and parmessan to the butter to make it extra tasty. It only took 30min in my oven and I will definitely make this again!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I have used Lays cheddar and sour cream chips, crushed. Really great flavor. I make this for my grandchildren all the time, better than those crummy chicken nuggets at McD's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Reither

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This was delicious! I had 6 chicken breasts, so I made 2 with regular chips, 2 with sour cream and onion chips and 2 with BBQ chips. All were fantastic and surprisingly crispy! I didn't marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States