Potato Chip Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I've been making Potato Chip Chicken for my family for years! But for extra flavor and moistness, instead of coating the chicken with melted butter, I rub the chicken with Miracle Whip before coating in the potato chip crumbs. Tip for making potato chip crumbs: Leave the potato chips in the original bag they come in, just snip a very small portion off of one corner at the top to release the air before rolling. The original bag holds up much better during rolling, and the chips cannot escape from it! Also, for an EXTRA-SPECIAL dish that my family loves on special occasions, I drizzle a tiny amount of honey over the chicken just before serving. The salty/sweet combination is Really Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I have been making this for almost 20 years, but I use boneless skinless chicken breasts that I dip in butter (I do not marinate) and crushed regular potato chips that I also add pepper, garlic powder and onion powder to. The leftover butter I pour over and bake for 45 minutes uncovered at 350. It is delicious, moist, and sometimes I make country gravy and pour over it and serve with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris from the Illinois Valley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I didn't marinate it. I thought that was a bit ridiculous. However, I cut my chicken breasts into thin strips and dipped it into milk instead of melted butter. Last time, I dipped anything into melted butter, it burned. I also used Sour Cream & Onion potato chips which gave it a lot of yummy flavor. Overall, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulya, Homyel, Belarus
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe! I used peppercorn ranch (old dutch) potato chips - takes more than one cup though. They were so moist on the inside and crispy on the oustside. I did not bother to marinate and I added garlic and parmessan to the butter to make it extra tasty. It only took 30min in my oven and I will definitely make this again!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Deliciously crunchy! This is an excellent oven-fried chicken recipe. I did not marinate it in the butter, though, just rolled chicken in the butter and then rolled in the chip-crumbs. I used plain chips, but will try this with other flavors for variety. UPDATE: I like this with plain chips, but it is especially good with BBQ chips. I thought I would like Sour Cream 'n' Onion, but am sorry to report that it didn't add any particular flavor. (In fact the SCO flavor got "lost".)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
My sister used to make this for us when we were in high school. Used regular flavored chips, dipped in melted butter just prior to rolling in chips and baking...not over night. 45 mins too long... chicken will be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I have been making this for years. It is my husbands favorite dish. While I do not marinate my chicken overnight, I do let it sit in the melted butter for a few minutes before coating it with the chips. I always use sour cream and onion chips and drizzle the leftover melted butter over the chicken right before putting it in the oven. I never use any additional seasonings as the flavor of the sour cream and onion chips is enough for us. I comes out nice and crispy with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Just okay, probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2000
Great recipe for an amateur cook like myself...chicken turned out dry because I didn't tenderize it - OOPS! I used Fun Yuns as the potato chip and it turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTENHIPS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Chicken was moist even without the marinating which I skipped because I didn't have time. My family seemed to enjoy this recipe and I let my kids choose the flavour of chips. I dipped the chicken in melted butter and coated with sour cream and onion chips. The flavour of the chips really didn't come through but it didn't seem to matter to anyone. I added salt and pepper and a dash of garlic powder to each piece of chicken and baked on a foil covered baking sheet. 35 mins was plenty for the bone in chicken thighs we had. Will try again with different type of chip. If you like breaded chicken it's worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States