Potato Chip Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
While definitely not one of the healthiest recipes that I have made, my family loved it. I did use almond slivers and used one can of Cream of Chicken and another of Cream of Celery. I also followed another reviewers advice and doubled the rice. One cup is definitely not enough. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamala Henry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I used to make this recipe years ago and loved it and i was thrilled to find it again here. I made it last night and it was just like i remembered it and the whole family loved it. There was plenty for leftovers and it was just as good cold as it was hot. I used a bit more chicken than it called for but it made no difference in the taste, so many different textures..very interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corie g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
We really liked this, but I only gave it 4 stars because we had to add some spice to give it some flavor. I sauteed the chicken with about 1/2 cup diced onion, butter and EVOO. Then added salt, white pepper, cajun spice (very little for some "bam" factor), oregano and garlic. I also used half sour cream and half mayo.It was fantastic! Also, my hubbie suggested next time we use chedder/sourcream potato chips! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Very good! I even threw in sliced mushrooms too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Very tasty recipe. The whole family liked it. The potato chips give it a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
this tasted pretty good, I didn't make it but my husband did and his only complaint was that it had many steps and seemed a bit time consuming...but the end result was yummy! (next time I won't add the celery 'cause the kids didn't like that, maybe just celery powder...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Changing my rating - I've made this recipe now several times and with a few changes, it's among one of the favourites in my family. So I'm changing from 4 to 5 stars. -replaced mayo with 1 can condensed broccoli soup -replaced celery with chopped broccoli -didn't bother with the onion and put in a little onion powder, and garlic powder -used a 8x8 baking dish to make a thicker casserole (needs to bake a little longer -I also usually buy one of those rotisserie chickens from the deli, then de-bone it and use the whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This was very bland and didn't go over very well, not even with my three kids. If I was to make this again it would certainly need doctoring up and I would probably change it to cream of mushroom soup as I found the cream of chicken gave it an off taste. As other reviewers said I would either omit the celery or cut it up super small as it never seemed to cook and was still crunchy after 30 minutes. Overall this recipe didn't seem worth it for the amount of fat and calories we ate in one serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This was an excellent week-night meal. My kids loved it because it had potato chips on it. Next time, I will leave out the rice and just add more chicken, onions and celery, since I'm controlling my carbohydrate intake. I did use half a large onion this time, and chopped it rather than grating it. I left out the water chestnuts at my hubby's request and substituted light sour cream for half the mayonnaise, which gave this an great flavor and saved some fat calories. I also used oregano and basil (both dried) in the sauce/chicken mixture. A little hot sauce would have been good too. I may add in mushrooms next time. Great recipe. UPDATE: I made this for supper again last night, and substituted diced zucchini for the rice. It was heavenly! By the way, if you saute your veggies along with the chicken, you don't have to worry about your celery not being completely cooked. Everything is more flavorful that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe. The only thing I changed was chicken broth for the water. I will make it again, but will follow Karenve suggestion and use Jalapeno potato chips. This also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States