Potato Chip Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Several reviewers have noted the fat content of the recipe. Here are some ways to trim it a bit: Use reduced-fat cream of chicken soup, substitute plain Greek yogurt for the mayo, and use reduced fat (2%) cheddar cheese. Then top with crushed baked potato chips. I've made this recipe through the years and always omit the water chestnuts. To me they do not add much flavor and will turn soft and 'sour' when you try to re-warm the casserole as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Very tasty recipe, usually have some cooked chicken around that needs a home. Found one now. This recipe is something like a hot chicken salad. Deffinatly a keeper. Fast to put together, got it together and in the oven. Made afast salad and dinner was ready. I did cut the calories some by using low fat mayo and cheese. Didnt have the sharp but still tasted great. Guess you could still cut more by useing baked chips and spraying the top with oil spray. But just don't seem the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I substituted yellow squash for water chestnuts. Better with seasonings other than salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made this last night and it was delicious. I used tomato basil potato chips and they really added a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Excellent!! will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I have been making this recipe from this site for years and just realized that I never reviewed it! I made this originally because of my daughter who loves potato chips. I use low fat cream of chicken soup and Helman's mayonnaise and I usually skip the water chestnuts and the celery. I did used to put in the water chestnuts but they really only add crunch to the dish. I didn't notice any difference without them so I just leave them out now. Tasty and good comfort food but lots of calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I've made this recipe for years and call it Hot Chicken Salad, but make it with a topping made with cornflake, almond, and a little butter heated in a skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Awesome!!! I didn't have enough chicken, but I added more rice and put it in a smaller casserole dish. Everybody loved it in our house!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
My family loved this dish! The potato chips made an excellent crucny type crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbeachrocks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Easy and delicious! I used Baked Potato Chips and Olive Oil Mayonnaise to reduce the fat and make the dish a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States