Potato Chip Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Made according to directions using leftover smoked turkey DH made and homemade cream of turkey soup, again using leftover smoked turkey. For the rice I use Uncle Ben's Basmati Medley Savory Herb from the AR & Sponsor Share package. It really added a nice addition of flavors and texture. I bumped up the grated cheddar cheese to 2 cups per our personal taste. Rich, decadent and can absolutely be categorized as Comfort Food. Next time I make I'll add broccoli, asparagus or frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I put my own twist to it. I Par boiled the rice in sone chix stock. And with the left over water was my quarter cup for the water,I omitted the celery, onion, and lemon juice.I also mixed the cheese in with the chicken mixture. I crushed the chips with some garlic salt for some extra flavor. And I cut the chix up and cooked it in the casserole. I loved it! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I agree with the other reviewers. This recipe needed more flavour. I added three cloves garlic and fresh pepper. I also added more potato chips after reheating, before serving. Substituted cream of celery for one of the cans of cream of chicken soup. These changes added more overall flavour to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Orr Enright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Several reviewers have noted the fat content of the recipe. Here are some ways to trim it a bit: Use reduced-fat cream of chicken soup, substitute plain Greek yogurt for the mayo, and use reduced fat (2%) cheddar cheese. Then top with crushed baked potato chips. I've made this recipe through the years and always omit the water chestnuts. To me they do not add much flavor and will turn soft and 'sour' when you try to re-warm the casserole as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Very tasty recipe, usually have some cooked chicken around that needs a home. Found one now. This recipe is something like a hot chicken salad. Deffinatly a keeper. Fast to put together, got it together and in the oven. Made afast salad and dinner was ready. I did cut the calories some by using low fat mayo and cheese. Didnt have the sharp but still tasted great. Guess you could still cut more by useing baked chips and spraying the top with oil spray. But just don't seem the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I substituted yellow squash for water chestnuts. Better with seasonings other than salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made this last night and it was delicious. I used tomato basil potato chips and they really added a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Excellent!! will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I have been making this recipe from this site for years and just realized that I never reviewed it! I made this originally because of my daughter who loves potato chips. I use low fat cream of chicken soup and Helman's mayonnaise and I usually skip the water chestnuts and the celery. I did used to put in the water chestnuts but they really only add crunch to the dish. I didn't notice any difference without them so I just leave them out now. Tasty and good comfort food but lots of calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I've made this recipe for years and call it Hot Chicken Salad, but make it with a topping made with cornflake, almond, and a little butter heated in a skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States