Potato Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I'm vigilant about my sodium intake, so I use unsalted chicken broth, and instead of garlic salt, used garlic powder. Also, I sauteed the onion in extra light-tasting olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My family love this, I made this one pot stew and add pepper when serving. Very good with toasted bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I liked this dish! It was simple to put together, had everyone on hand and was very tasty! It was filling on a cold Minnesota night. Served with biscuits, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I thought the flavour of this stew was great. But it turned out to be more like a soup than stew. It didn't thicken when I added the flour and I didn't want to keep adding it, so just ate it the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This recipe was delicious! I did have to change a few things to add some flavour though... I first sauteed the celery, onions and two gloves of garlic.. then I added in the flour and the other juices. It was not very thick so I added in a can of Cream of Chicken soup to help with flavour and thickness. I then added the potatoes and carrots, let them cook in the flavour. I then added the mushrooms, chicken and the rest of the vegetables. Letting it cook longer. I added 2 chicken bouillon cubes to add more flavour which helped a lot! I then blended about 5 cups of the stew to thicken it further. I was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I did modify the recipe quite a bit to a longer prep time, however. Sauteed the onion, celery and mushrooms with real garlic in butter with 1 teaspoon poultry seasoning and 2 teaspoons herbs de provence. Then added the diced chicken and 2 cups white white - simmer for at least an hour until it starts to boil down. At this point, you can continue with the recipe as is, or add some stock and cook down again before adding other ingredients. If you like that "French" taste, you'll love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I used corn starch mixed in cold water to thicken-about 3 tbspns. That took away any flour taste. Also used dry chicken bouillon and dry tomato bouillon for flavor-about 2 cubes each. Left out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very good. Easy to make. I followed the receipe exact, except I didn't have sage. It was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyinpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This dish was pretty good; lots of flavor without being too salty. I served it over biskets as sort of an easy pot pie. I was skeptical about adding the flour to thicken it last (it seemed like it would just clump up) but after sitting for a while the lumps disapeared and the stew was quite thick. I made several changes to the recipie to substitute for things I didn't have. I used some homemade veggie stock in place of some of the chicken stock. I used canned mushrooms instead of fresh. We didn't have any chicken but it was still very tasty. I also left out the frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was soooo yummy! I left out the frozen veggies and four but added fresh ingredients (green beans, carrots, celery, onion), rotisserie chicken, and kept it brothy. At the end I threw in sliced mushrooms and fresh baby spinach! Wow, soooo good, the whole family loved this (even the child that does NOT do spinach).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerre Gadoury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States