Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Some of the best potato soup I've ever eaten, and very easy to make! We do like to add leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Sliced the potatoes and carrots and then cooked in my steamer for 20 minutes. Added veggies to liquid in crock pot and cooked for 30 minutes on high. Also, added 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tbsp minced garlic, and 2 cups Italian cheese blend. Turned out fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Amazing potato soup, first had it at a friend's house and just had to get the recipe. This soup I can eat for days at a time! Also good to freeze if you want to make a huge pot and save some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very easy to make and very good on this cold night. I doubled the recipe and my family of four ate almost the whole pot! I didn't have celery so I didn't use and used onion powder instead of onions (kids don't care much for them.) I didn't have vegetable broth so I used chicken. Amazing recipe - will be used over and over! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is a good basic recipe. I changed some things though. I didn't have any celery so I skipped it although I did put in a little celery salt. I added a couple cloves of garlic as well. I pureed the soup instead of just partially mashing it and hid some frozen corn in it as well. I have a picky 5 year old to try to get veggies into. Other than that I followed it in terms of ingredients and procedure. Good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
very good recipe! i used red potatoes and sauteed the celery and onions before i added them to the broth. I also used cheddar cheese because I am not a big fan of swiss. My husband and I both enjoyed it. Great for a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made this soup gluten free by using a gluten free flour mix to thicken it in place of the regular flour, and I used grated Gruyere instead of Swiss. My husband called it "restaurant quality" soup. Very complex flavors and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I thought this was a great recipe. I did change it up a bit. First, I used sharp cheddar instead. Second, I added a bit of cayenne pepper. And thirdly, while the broth and vegetables were cooking I added a tea strainer with fresh garlic cloves and then took out before adding the milk. That said, it was a great recipe and I really, really enjoyed it and will definently make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
A wonderful soup for a cold autumn day. Next time I will definitely add some bacon pieces either to individual bowls or in the soup itself. It needs a bit more flavor. I had some leeks I needed to use up, so used that instead of onion. I cut up my potatoes in small pieces, not quarters, and for six servings used just two rather large (baking size) yukon gold potatoes. Personal preference. I didn't have vegetable broth, so used chicken broth. To keep soup from having a flour taste, and from getting lumps, I melted my butter, added the flour, cooked for about three minutes then added the milk. Let the milk heat a bit (but not to boiling) then after mashing up the veggies, added it to the vegetables. That is the best way to cook this so there are no lumps. I used coarsely ground black pepper, and I didn't have enough Swiss cheese, only a couple of slices, so I used up some other cheeses along with the Swiss: cheddar, a white cheddar, and parmasan. It was a great soup. Rates a five or more stores. Thick, yes it is rich, but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States