Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by simplya
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Perfect and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I substituted the Swiss for English sharp Cheddar. It was excellent. I would serve this one to company for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALFFINGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great base to this soup! I did use sharp cheddar as some recommended, but may give it a try with the swiss next time. I doubled the recipe and also chopped up 12 pieces of precooked bacon and added at the end. Was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommajackson308

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Prairie City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Yum! I left the skin on the potatoes and ended up needing a lot more broth, but it was still very good! I used cheddar cheese and left out the flour all together since it was already so thick. I'll probably use only half a teaspoon of pepper next time, too. Bacon and green onions on top added a nice touch! I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Great soup! I added some smoked polish sausage and used chicken broth instead of vegetable. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very tasty! I used colby-jack cheese in it and had to omit the celery because I didn't have any. Easy and yummy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I just finished making this (and tasting it) for dinner! Yum yum. Like several people I swapped out the cheese - not because I don't like Swiss, but because I didn't have it on hand. I used a Mexican cheese blend. I doubled the recipe and it came out delicious. My only complaint is the potatoes. I used 8 potatoes and it isn't quite enough. I wish that instead of a # of potatoes it had a # of cups of potatoes. I am about to cut up some more potatoes, soften them up and throw them in the soup. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINESAVILLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Great first time try at Potato cheese soup, didn't have the celery but still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This recipe got big raves at my dinner party tonight! I used the recipe adjuster to work to serve 10 people. It called for a little over 1/4 of a cup butter. I added 1/2 cup butter. Instead of adding 4 cups of milk, I added 3 cups of milk and 1 cup half and half cream. I skipped adding pepper. Substituted celery for green bell pepper. I was amazing! I wish I had done a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This soup was SOOOO good! But I made changes cuz' I forgot to buy some stuff.. I used 3 cups whole milk instead I used Velveeta and Sharp Cheddar cheeses I didn't have celery seed so I added some garlic and a cajun seasoning I didn't have flour so I used biscuit mix that was an All-Purpose Mix I used maybe 8-10 potatoes, 2 carrots chopped, and 2 stalks of celery chopped. I used 1.5 cup of vegetable broth and 1.5 cups of chicken broth. Because of adding more of things, I also had to add more parsley, salt and pepper as it went along. it made about 6 bowls worth but I was really hoping I'd have leftovers. Next time i will add more of everything so I have some left over. It was SOOO good! I "garnish" it with smoked sausage because the men need their beef; so we put sausage on top of the soup and serve with french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States