Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Amazing potato soup, first had it at a friend's house and just had to get the recipe. This soup I can eat for days at a time! Also good to freeze if you want to make a huge pot and save some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very easy to make and very good on this cold night. I doubled the recipe and my family of four ate almost the whole pot! I didn't have celery so I didn't use and used onion powder instead of onions (kids don't care much for them.) I didn't have vegetable broth so I used chicken. Amazing recipe - will be used over and over! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is a good basic recipe. I changed some things though. I didn't have any celery so I skipped it although I did put in a little celery salt. I added a couple cloves of garlic as well. I pureed the soup instead of just partially mashing it and hid some frozen corn in it as well. I have a picky 5 year old to try to get veggies into. Other than that I followed it in terms of ingredients and procedure. Good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
very good recipe! i used red potatoes and sauteed the celery and onions before i added them to the broth. I also used cheddar cheese because I am not a big fan of swiss. My husband and I both enjoyed it. Great for a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made this soup gluten free by using a gluten free flour mix to thicken it in place of the regular flour, and I used grated Gruyere instead of Swiss. My husband called it "restaurant quality" soup. Very complex flavors and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I thought this was a great recipe. I did change it up a bit. First, I used sharp cheddar instead. Second, I added a bit of cayenne pepper. And thirdly, while the broth and vegetables were cooking I added a tea strainer with fresh garlic cloves and then took out before adding the milk. That said, it was a great recipe and I really, really enjoyed it and will definently make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
A wonderful soup for a cold autumn day. Next time I will definitely add some bacon pieces either to individual bowls or in the soup itself. It needs a bit more flavor. I had some leeks I needed to use up, so used that instead of onion. I cut up my potatoes in small pieces, not quarters, and for six servings used just two rather large (baking size) yukon gold potatoes. Personal preference. I didn't have vegetable broth, so used chicken broth. To keep soup from having a flour taste, and from getting lumps, I melted my butter, added the flour, cooked for about three minutes then added the milk. Let the milk heat a bit (but not to boiling) then after mashing up the veggies, added it to the vegetables. That is the best way to cook this so there are no lumps. I used coarsely ground black pepper, and I didn't have enough Swiss cheese, only a couple of slices, so I used up some other cheeses along with the Swiss: cheddar, a white cheddar, and parmasan. It was a great soup. Rates a five or more stores. Thick, yes it is rich, but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
i substituted chicken broth. omg so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 13ragamuffin777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
very good and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States