Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Fabulous and easy. My daughter LOVED it. We used goat cheese to jazz it up. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was excellent, and easy for a novice like me to make. Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
A good soup if modifications are made. 4 cups vegetable broth (I needed that much to cover the potatoes in my saucepan), 2-3 cups cheese, 1/2 tsp. or less black pepper. Plain soy milk worked well as a substitute for regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
To try something a little differrent, I used beef stock, and it was also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
As other reviewers have said, I too, do NOT like swiss cheese. I used it anyway and thought it turned out great! I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth because that is what I had on hand. I changed the method by making a roux...melt the butter in a pot, whisk in the flour, add the milk and stir over heat until thick. Add the cheese to the milk mixture. Then I added the milk mixture to the potato mixture. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Good soup, but too heavy. Next time I'll use half the cheese (in fact, I thought it tasted great BEFORE adding the cheese). Also, I used rice milk instead of cows milk so it's even lighter than it would have been. Also, used celery instead of onions since neither my son or me like onions. Also, chopped up fresh parsley instead of dried. Thought that added some great flavor. Will definitely make it again...just with a couple more modifications (I like to experiment). Maybe with cheddar instead of Swiss cheese next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryant Hayward

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Best potato soup ever.. couldn't be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This soup is quite easy to make and very delicious! I didn't have Swiss cheese at the time, so I used Cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlyGirl11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I love this recipe, even my picky father and sister love it. Great for lenten fridays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States