Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This soup tastes great. The recipe's a little ambiguous about the potatos. I used 8 large baking potatos, intending to double the recipe, only to end up more than quadrupling it. This is a great recipe for people who don't eat meat. Very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very delicious. I used a GF flour to thicken it but it was delicious. It needs a little more salt but was delicious otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This dish is excellent..and you don't need the exact ingredience. I used a fish called SWEI? ever heard of it? neither did I..It's sort of like tilapia, also new to my vocabulary..I made adjustments to my italian taste buds, and added a little garlic powder and pepper to the fish when I layed them out on the baking sheets, plus used a combination of mozzarella, romano and parmesan cheese in my potato chip mixture..it turned out great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Definitely use less pepper (I used half of what was called for, still a little peppery) and used half of parsley called for, would do the same again. Cooked and mashed up my potatoes ahead of time, boiled the celery and carrot in the chicken broth (did not have veg. broth). Ended up adding canned corn to the soup for the kids and they liked it better that way. Good recipe, tasted great on a cool fall night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Loved it. My daughter is a vegetarian so I cooked following the recipe until almost complete, I put some aside for her and added cubed ham into the rest. Let the ham heat through and then added cheddar cheese instead of swiss. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Denekas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Fabulous and easy. My daughter LOVED it. We used goat cheese to jazz it up. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was excellent, and easy for a novice like me to make. Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
A good soup if modifications are made. 4 cups vegetable broth (I needed that much to cover the potatoes in my saucepan), 2-3 cups cheese, 1/2 tsp. or less black pepper. Plain soy milk worked well as a substitute for regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
To try something a little differrent, I used beef stock, and it was also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
As other reviewers have said, I too, do NOT like swiss cheese. I used it anyway and thought it turned out great! I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth because that is what I had on hand. I changed the method by making a roux...melt the butter in a pot, whisk in the flour, add the milk and stir over heat until thick. Add the cheese to the milk mixture. Then I added the milk mixture to the potato mixture. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States